5 objects for the Afterlife

Vicky Hwang
VHLAB
Published in
3 min readNov 14, 2016

Letters, Post-it notes, Le Petit Prince book, 3 bracelets, Guitar (fixed)

I want to communicate a bigger story that the future strangers might take interest to interpret. I don’t expect comprehension instead, I’d like to think that I’m leaving room for exploration.

I chose the letters and post-it notes because, they’re direct connection to and traces of other people. It opens up a larger scope to explore and has so many characters in play. I hope they will talk about/ imagine what the other people in the letters were like. There’s an wedding invitation, postcard from France, international mails, etc. And I hope the future audience would appreciate the different handwritings as I have.

Arts is just something that I want to contribute in extending to the future generations. I’m sure it’ll always remain in humanity but, just in case! So, I’ll hopefully have the guitar fixed in time to be discovered by distant future audience. Literature and music have always been an important part of humanity, culture and history. Some traditional values and works retain their values regardless of time.

The two bracelets each represent commemorating certain people. The two bracelets literally say why I chose them: “Remember 20140416,” and “Per sempre nei nostri cuori.” They both speak about remembering, forever being in our hearts. The yellow bracelet remembers when the Sewol ferry in Korea sank with 300 students onboard in 2014. The bracelet is a political and social voice that still asks the unanswered questions about the controversies behind the accident and governmental reactions following it. The red bracelet celebrates the F1 driver Jules Bianchi’s achievements and commemorates his death. I customized the bracelet taking two phrases each used by the team and another F1 driver commemorating Jules Bianchi. I hope the distant future audience are aware of the two events the bracelets address. Or if they are unaware, I hope by discovering these object, they will get to learn about it through a bit of research.

Monaco. 2014. P8. #JB17 / Per sempre nei nostri cuori
REMEMBER 20140416

--

--