Reflection on ‘You, designer’

Vicky Hwang
VHLAB
Published in
1 min readNov 16, 2016

So, during the class discussion, I realized ‘Awareness,’ is part a part of the design process but, not quite the definition of it. And that it doesn’t matter if I want to make cars or what. Just like any design project, I need to figure out the values and thoughts that goes in before determining the end product.

I thought about why I thought being aware was a part of my design. And I looked back to my objects. Awareness is a big word. In essence, what I like to do and want to do is just share interesting stories. Stories or incidents that were fascinating or significant to me in any scale.

Most of my significant objects are ‘significant’ to me because, they are related to other people or moments with them that I want to remember. By having them in my life, I create an illusion that those objects and moments from the past are still relevant to the present. My 5 objects for the afterlife tell stories about other people. And I’m more interested in transferring and sharing their stories. Maybe it’s social movements or activism, raising awareness. Or maybe it’s simply retelling a fun fact or a funny episode I heard from somebody else.

--

--