Southeastern’s Most Difficult Classes

Asante Jackson
Vibing With Jack
Published in
2 min readNov 6, 2019

Southeastern Louisiana University has always been a place for young adolescents to learn and acquire the necessary skills to achieve their goals, yet that doesn’t mean it’s easy for everyone. Students have struggled with some of the courses on campus, and Tyler Thompson and Kiera Sulcer are no exception to that statement.

Tyler Thompson is a sophomore who is majoring in business and has only been at SLU for a year.

In his sophomore year, Tyler is taking a total of five courses, yet he describes math as the most challenging class he has had so far.

“Math 241, Statistics, is the most difficult class I’ve taken so far. I feel defeated because no matter how hard I study for tests, I feel like I never improve. There is too much material given at one time, which makes it feel like you have to cram to succeed,” Thompson said as he laid back on his bed.

When most classes become too harsh for a student, they would formally withdraw from the course to avoid failing. Thompson doesn’t plan on throwing in the towel just yet.

“I haven’t withdrawn from any of my classes, and I didn’t want to admit defeat. I feel like the class can be strenuous, but I don’t want to take over again in another semester,” Thompson said.

While Thompson admits that some of the blame for him doing so poorly in Math 241 lies with him, he elaborates on what the teacher, Chantelle Landry, can do to make things easier for other students.

“Your grade in her class is dependent solely on your test scores, and I feel she puts too much material on her test. I feel like she should give more assignments so we would have more opportunities to earn points. Also, I wish she would give us points for attendance and allow us to do test corrections,” Thompson said.

Another student who is having extreme difficulty with a class is my cousin, Kiera Sulcer. She is a junior and is pursuing a nursing major as of right now.

“Chemistry 107 is the most challenging class so far,” Sulcer said. She seemed so exhausted and tired, just thinking about it.

Sulcer has never been the type of person to give up and wouldn’t ever withdraw from the class, which was being taught by the teacher, William Parkinson.

“I didn’t want to withdraw because this course is a prerequisite for another class that is required in my nursing major. Not taking the course now would have put me behind a semester,” she said.

College isn’t easy for everyone, and sometimes it’s not supposed to be. In life, there are going to be situations or circumstances that challenge us.

View every challenge or difficulty as an opportunity to better yourself, and by improving yourself, you’ll find a way to succeed.

--

--