Butterfly (poem)

Elizaveta Friesem
Vibrancy
Published in
2 min readJun 22, 2023

--

I distinctly remember how the idea of this poem came to me. It happened one hot morning in the summer of 2016. I was sitting on the living room floor with my newborn son, Robin. That is when the concept of this poem entered my sleepy brain.

For a long while, I was considering what I should do with it. It took me a few years, when I suddenly decided to turn my idea into a verse in the spring of 2021. I sat down, and the words just poured onto the page. I guess they were happy to get out after waiting for so long.

Even after writing the poem down, I was still not sure what to do. It felt anticlimactic to just publish the text somewhere online. So I kept waiting…Until, in the spring of 2023, I watched a video that my friend Kelsey made using her own poem. I instantly felt inspired! Hope you will enjoy the result of this lengthy creative process.

[Chick here to check out my other poems, or to sign up for my newsletter and get regular updates about my creative projects. Thank you for your interest!]

***

Photo by Jack T on Unsplash

One day, between the flowers and the sky,

I met the most amazing butterfly.

It sat in my hand, waiting to be caught,

And all I knew was that it caught my heart.

This butterfly became my precious friend,

Our happiness, I felt, would never end.

First, I carried my friend around.

Her feet were still unsteady on the ground.

I fed her and I slowly watched her grow.

I taught her things that she did not yet know.

My friend became as strong and tall as me.

She could explore all things that she could be.

My work was done, and now it was my turn

To take the love she offered in return.

She fed me patiently as I was growing small.

She taught me things that I could not recall.

My feet were now unsteady on the ground.

She smiled to me and carried me around.

It was so warm and cozy in her hand.

Our happiness, I felt, would never end.

One day, between the flowers and the sky,

It was my turn to be a butterfly.

--

--