Susan Eschbach
Vibrancy
Published in
1 min readSep 14, 2023

--

Fire Storm

I was born a storm
wild clouds energized
windy raining tumultuous
I have honored that storm in my life
its power, exhilaration, downpours and gentle rains
breezes and gales
some have loved my way of turning my face to the elements
some have wished me more temperate
I have searched for the richness, the uplift of
cumulous nimbus cirrus large scale extreme perhaps
or just the expectation of spring
not destructive tornado or hurricane, though some days my emotions might beg to differ,
a sky of dark greys, shot through with brilliant blue, white mountains climbing up off the land
lightening across the distance, count the miles by seconds
ions swirling, full of ideas and desires, expanding expanding
’til it all blows through

and I was born on fire
flares and flames reaching at what i saw and understood
to burn it and create newness through the ashes
fueled, energized, furious, consuming ideas and desires
moving through the landscape hoping to be within it, change it,
some have loved my yelloworangeredblues lighting the sky wild love
some have loved my embers, warming, stoked, browning the sweetness
some have wished me less consuming, more tamped
I have searched for the loves that direct this flame
relationships purposes values missions
focusing not to burn a swath but kindle, with others, the revolutionsand not burn myself out

--

--

Susan Eschbach
Vibrancy
Editor for

teacher • thinker • poet • painter • activist • lover • mom • lesbian • environmentalist • justice driven in all endeavors • balancing anger and awe