An expression of Gratitude

Shailee Tanna
Chinmaya Mission Niagara
3 min readOct 9, 2018

Guru Poornima. The day that we pay tribute to the lineage of Gurus that make it possible for us to learn, to grow and to prosper. If you break down the actual Sanskrit word, “gu” means darkness, and “ru” means remover. Hence, a Guru literally is one who removes darkness. One who pushes us into the light. One who, through knowledge (of the scriptures) removes our ignorance, and arms us with the tools we need to strike a path towards Infinity.

I grew up in a home with strong spiritual tendencies. From a young age, I was exposed to Vedanta via weekly classes, discourses from visiting Swamis, and direct interaction with great masters and teachers. It was a world I grew to revere, yet always seemed so separate from me. I enjoyed participating, yet felt that the thoughts shared were interesting, funny and often thought-provoking, but not relevant. I spent most of my teenage years and early adulthood wearing my spiritual intellectualism like a badge of honor, challenging people to debates, always to prove a point and always to win. Knowing a little more than the average person made me proud, almost arrogant, but it was enough. I had decided, it was not relevant to live, only to know.

That world-view of mind was turned upside down and inside out, a little over 10 years ago, when, shortly after returning from a 2-year grueling ‘monkhood’ course in India, I met Vivekji. I first attended the weekly discussion groups that Vivekji used to hold, out of my habit to debate, argue, prove a point. That didn’t last long. I soon learnt that I know nothing. My arguments no longer holding true, I was forced to start listening and observing. What I noticed was a room full of young Indians, struggling to make sense of their heritage. And in the middle, holding the torch high, an ambassador.

10 years on now, having started from a small basement in Suburban Toronto, Vivekji’s influence spreads far and wide. Hundreds of thousands of youth, family and children receive his weekly emails, attend his retreats, or study with him in the e-courses he conducts. This is but the tip of the iceberg of his activities. What is inspiring about him? His dynamism? His vision? His efforts? All that, yes. But more than that, it is that he makes the scriptures relevant. From his love of Pearl Jam, to his competitive streak when playing soccer, Vivekji taught me that an ‘ordinary’ person can be extraordinary, with the right vision. With love and trust in the scriptures, a mundane life can be divine.

Now when I sit in discourses and listen to saints speak, I do so with the conviction that this ancient knowledge that has been passed down from generations, is relevant, and is real. With that comes faith, joy and gratitude. Gratitude for the Guru-shishya parampara that keeps this knowledge alive, and gratitude to that ambassador, that re-awoke in me the love for our scriptures.

Om Sri Satguruve Namah

--

--