Freshly Squeezed OJ & Homemade Cold Buster Shots

Weekend Mornings are for Mimosas

Victoria
Victoria Leech
2 min readJan 11, 2020

--

One of my favorite little luxuries is freshly squeezed orange juice. Picking up a bag of oranges and putting them through a hand pressed juicer is a great way to start the weekend. Plus, it’s super fun for kids! In many grocery stores you can pay up to $8.99 for a small amount of fresh juice. By taking the time to do it yourself, you’ll not only occupy the kiddos for a bit, but we had enough OJ to last us all week long.

I usually like to turn a juicing day into a mimosa fueled brunch but last weekend we were all feeling a little congested so I whipped up my cold busting remedy shots. The Urban Remedy version of these go for $5.25! That is not cheap. I should caveat here that little Olive is not interested in these, as they are tart and intense. But, the fresh OJ is usually enough to help her fight things off anyhow. For Connor and I, we each took a shot of this magical remedy and the chest congestion I was feeling was gone.

Homemade Cold Buster Shots

Ingredients:

¼ C Fresh Squeezed OJ (you can totally substitute your favorite brand)

2 Tb Apple Cider Vinegar

1 TB Ground Ginger

1 TB Ground Tumeric

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together thoroughly and shoot one back. I like to put in a jar with a lid and dance around with it to get all ingredients thoroughly combined.

Makes 4–6 Shots

Kids Can:

Squeeze the Oranges

Measure Ingredients

Mix ingredients

--

--

Victoria
Victoria Leech

Hi there! I’m a mom, executive assistant, food lover, and wine drinker.