There’s No Such Thing as ‘Kid Food’

WTF is a Dino Nugget Anyways?

Victoria
Victoria Leech
4 min readDec 30, 2019

--

As a rule we don’t do a lot of processed foods at our house. I’ve found them to be overpriced, unhealthy, and usually, gross. From talking to a lot of my fellow working moms though, I’ve learned that on top of our busy schedules balancing work, family, friends and self care many parents are cooking a second dish at meal time for their kids. Why are we doing this to ourselves? We are all busy enough and as a result, many of us are leaning on whatever the F a dino nugget is. GROSS.

At our house we cook one meal, and we might set the hot sauce aside or pull the noodles out before adding a more complex sauce. I don’t believe that my kids need a different meal than the one I’m eating. My toddler loves coconut shrimp, dumplings, curry and rice, stroganoff, the whole spectrum of different foods. I attribute this two things. 1) We expose her to a wide variety of foods over and over again 2) We make sure she is involved in the cooking process.

I’m not saying don’t enjoy some chicken nuggets now and again. We all love chicken nuggets. How about making them yourself for a fraction of the price? Pairing them with some delicious greens or steamed broccoli and macaroni. This is a more balanced meal, for less. Frankly, I think you and your partner will enjoy it just as much as your kids.

This year I encourage you to start cooking just one meal at dinner time. Invite your kids to help you in the kitchen and note the pride they feel from eating a meal they helped create. My resolution is to give you the recipes and tools to be successful bringing healthy meals into your home that your whole family can enjoy. Stop wasting your money on oddly shaped garbage food and enjoy meals together again.

To start the New Year, and holy crap, New Decade off to a great start here’s the recipe I’m making for my family for New Years Eve Dinner. This is a recipe from the wonderful Silver Palate Cookbook which I’ve adapted to make for an easy and delicious meal that you can easily put together whether you are entertaining or simply want to treat your family.

Chicken Marbella

Photo Courtesy of Craig Lee

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup olive oil
  • ½ cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 cup pitted prunes
  • ½ cup pitted Spanish green olives
  • ½ cup capers, with a bit of juice
  • 6 bay leaves
  • 1 head of garlic, peeled
  • ½ cup fresh oregano, chopped, or 1/4 cup dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons of salt
  • ¼ teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped flat-leaf parsley

Directions:

  1. In a large dutch oven, combine the olive oil, vinegar, prunes, olives, capers and juice, bay leaves, garlic, oregano, salt and pepper. Add the chicken and turn to coat. Refrigerate overnight if you have the time.
  2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Pour in the wine and sprinkle the chicken with the brown sugar.
  3. Bake until chicken is cooked, about 50 to 60 minutes. Use a meat thermometer, it should reach an internal temperature of 165 degrees.
  4. Transfer the chicken breasts to a warm serving platter and top with the prunes, olives and capers; keep warm. Place the dutch oven over medium heat and bring the pan juices to a boil. Reduce to about 1/2 cup. Strain into a heatproof bowl and pour over the chicken.
  5. Sprinkle with parsley for garnish.

I serve this dish with brown rice and roasted cauliflower but this could easily be paired with noodles, salad, roasted vegetables etc. Use what you have on hand and enjoy.

Kids can:

  • Strip the parsley
  • Count the bay leaves
  • Measure the ingredients
  • Garnish with parsley

What to Drink:

I suggest opening up a nice bottle of Zinfandel or if you prefer white, a Sauvignon Blanc with this dish. If you can afford the Rombauer Zinfandel I utterly adore this wine and pair it with a whole range of dishes. That being said if you’re throwing this together on a weeknight stop by target for your other errands and pick up a bottle of the Joel Gott Sauvignon Blanc while you’re there. It’s only $12.99, tastes great and pairs nicely with this dish. If you’re a natural wine snob, I don’t blame you, I highly recommend this bottle of Hummus. You’ll notice it’s empty here because I can’t keep my hands off.

Originally published at https://www.victorialeech.com on December 30, 2019.

--

--

Victoria
Victoria Leech

Hi there! I’m a mom, executive assistant, food lover, and wine drinker.