Introducing Video Chat

Paul Searle
Video Chat Events
Published in
2 min readMar 20, 2017

--

Video people: Are you ready to become a better business person? Join us at Video Chat, a pop-up conference for video-industry professionals.

I went to film school. Now I own a business. Like many of us, I didn’t study taxes, hiring procedures or sales. I’ve just been figuring it out for 10 years.

But I think there’s a better way…

Let’s collaborate.

Since hiring my first employee (and experiencing the growing pains that come with growing a business), I’ve been looking for an event that offers practical guidance to small-business owners in my field.

A few years ago, my company was hired to shoot an event in Minneapolis called Owner Camp. It was a small group of digital-agency owners who’d gotten together and shared problems, solutions, and insights they’d run into with their businesses. It was exactly what I’d been thinking about. Even though I worked in a different field, I learned more that weekend than I ever did in school about where I wanted my business to go and how I could start moving in that direction.

Around the same time, several friends and I (all people in the video field) started a Slack channel where we ask and answer questions and sometimes work together on projects. We’ve become close friends and, even though we’re sometimes too busy to jump on that monthly call, our new community has become integral to how we all run our businesses.

That’s where the idea for Video Chat was born.

Video Chat combines the in-person dynamic of Owner Camp with the ongoing support my friends and I receive from our Slack channel. The combination will allow us to come together as an industry and thoroughly address topics that we don’t usually get to. (More on those topics soon.)

So, from June 23 to 25 this year, we’ll be gathering a group of 30 entrepreneurs in Portland, Oregon to raise issues and concerns, suggest solutions, and offer insights. By sharing our collective knowledge, we can better address what is important to us as creative-business owners.

We will have a few Special Guests joining us to cover specific topics and share their knowledge, but they’ll be attendees just like the rest of us.

There’s more information to come and planning to be done before June, but I’m excited to share this event with all of you and (hopefully) hang out soon and collaborate.

It’ll be worth our time.

Learn more and register at videochat.events

Follow @videochatevents on Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

--

--