Lauren Selig is an entrepreneur and executive with a 20-year track record of global impact in the media, real-estate and start-up communities. In 2013, Selig founded Shake and Bake Productions and V.A.L.I.S Studios to finance and produce high quality independent studio pictures, television and virtual reality.

Vivid Labs Team
VideoCoin
Published in
3 min readAug 21, 2018

“It hasn’t been that long since things like Netflix have been around or YouTube and now all the sudden we can add this blockchain element on top of it. I think that’s very exciting and very necessary.”

How do you feel about the blockchain market?

I think the blockchain market is really strong right now.

I think there is an amazing opportunity for the companies that are really add value, in terms of both their teams & technology, to shift the landscape of how we look at technology; and how we interact with each other.

I do think that the blockchain market, unfortunately, is filled with companies that are not value add.

I believe we’re at the separation point where we will see the companies that are going to be successful rise to the top.

What are you most worried about in the crypto space?

I’m worried that the companies that are not adding value will weigh down the ones that are; and taint the community.

Why is bringing video and the blockchain together important? Why should people care?

Well first of all, I think that it’s about identity.

I think that anything you own in terms of identity whether its voice, video, or words should be something that is easy to own as yourself in a distributed network. I think that it’s the most important part — it allows for ease of transfer of information, ownership of that information, and identity of that information, and communication.

Why are you excited, personally, to be involved with bringing video and blockchain together?

My two favorite industries have always been entertainment and technology, and I think that finally there is an opportunity to put them together in one space.

That’s a very unique value add, and it combines both of the things I love the most.

Why is now the right time for video and blockchain to come together?

I think the technology is there now.

I think the ability both in the hardware and the software side is finally at a point where its not clunky and it’s usable.

And that allows for the timing in itself to work.

Is this one of the biggest changes you’ve seen in technology affecting video in the potential for what it can do in recent times?

Yeah, I think in terms of distribution and how we digest information and content; absolutely.

I mean, it hasn’t been that long since things like Netflix have been around or YouTube and now all the sudden we can add this blockchain element on top of it. I think that’s very exciting and very necessary.

What’s something the man on the street wouldn’t know about video and the blockchain that would be really interesting to them?

I think there is a lot of education around both video and blockchain that the average person should learn about or know about, and I think it’s just a matter of time before everyone gets a chance to know it and just embrace it.

You know, people didn’t know much about watching movies online until companies like Netflix made it easy to do so.

And i think that our job now is to figure out how we can complete the loop on years of distributing content and information to each other.

How will video and blockchain coming together make the world a better place?

I definitely think things like reducing costs, piracy, allowing people to own their own content, and allowing for easy communication and distribution.

Join us for discussion in our Telegram group: https://t.me/videocoin

--

--

Vivid Labs Team
VideoCoin

Creators of VIVID, the next generation NFT publishing platform that allows anyone to create, manage, and sell multimedia NFTs.