Boxing Gets Virtual Reality Treatment from IM360

Many doubt that virtual reality (VR) is a good vehicle for traditional film and TV narratives, but it’s accepted that the medium has great potential in the world of sports.

NBA champions the Golden State Warriors streamed their opening game of the season in VR. Now, virtual reality prodco IM360 is taking the medium into the ring for a boxing match between two-time former world champion David “Hayemaker” Haye (pictured) and Mark “The Dominator” di Mori at The O2 Arena in London on Jan. 16 at 9 p.m. GMT (4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT).

The event will be broadcast live in multi-camera 360-degree video via Hayemaker 360, a VR app custom-built by IM360 for Android smart phones and tablets, and on the Hayemaker 360 website.

Created in partnership with Salter Brothers Entertainment, Hayemaker 360 will also host a collection of exclusive virtual reality content about David Haye exploring his workouts and everyday life. The app was created through a partnership with Salter Brothers Entertainment.

Launched in the spring of 2015, IM360 is a joint venture between Oscar-winning VFX studio Digital Domain (“Titanic,” “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”) and 360-degree video pioneers Immersive Media. The company’s technology has previously been put to use for the “Blank Space” 360-degree music video by Taylor Swift, the TBS talk show “Conan” and the 2015 International Champions Cup (ICC) China soccer tournament.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.