30-Day Writing Challenge — April with Keeley

I Lived In A Camp When I Was A Kid

Day 20. Did you ever go camping when you were a kid

--

I never looked like this…but you get the idea! Photo by Jithin Murali on Unsplash

Did I go camping as a kid? Not in the sense you mean!

My childhood home and even into my early twenties was pretty much like a campground. Large joint family with my grandma, mom, uncles, aunts, and constant houseguests, a buzzing kitchen, busy bathrooms.

Let me describe our lovely second-floor home in the building my grandpa built. The other floors were partly occupied by some of our family and renters.

We occupied the second floor, which was quite large. There were six large rooms of which the largest was the living room. When I say large, I mean we could accommodate at least 80 people seated on the floor for a meal.

We had very few mattresses–in the sense, not everyone in the house got a mattress. We slept on a korai (river grass) mat covered with a cotton sheet on the floor. There were enough pillows though, and a cotton sheet to cover ourselves. What about winter? What winter? Haha! We lived in Mumbai.

--

--

Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles
Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles

Boost Nominator, Publisher, Namaste Now! Editor, The Narrative Arc, Poet. Loves coffee, travel, cooking, photography, kicking diabetes' ass. vidyasury.com