A Beginner’s Guide to Freelancing on Upwork

Kristen Pizzo
Vienna
Published in
4 min readFeb 17, 2020

--

Photo by Amelia Bartlett on Unsplash

I started freelancing on Upwork in April of 2018, and it’s currently where I earn the majority of my income.

I had been considering taking the plunge into freelancing for a while before that, but without a college degree at the time (I received my Bachelor’s in 2019), I was afraid no one would take me seriously.

Spoiler alert: My lack of degree didn’t cost me jobs.

I have found that the main keys to getting work are patience, work samples, and confidence.

Upwork is great for:

writers

editors

event planners

virtual assistants

graphic designers

social media managers

…basically any job that could possibly be done remotely.

I’ve had over a dozen clients and have done everything from social media management to email copywriting and PR work, and a few random fun projects like creating “neighborhood guides.” I rarely work on projects I don’t like because there are enough opportunities that I have the privilege of being choosy.

Whether you are just starting out with freelancing, in between jobs, or looking for supplemental income, I highly recommend signing up for Upwork.

--

--

Kristen Pizzo
Vienna

mental health | LGBTQ+ | culture | food | ethical shopping