From Mental Health Case Management to Makeup Artistry

Kristen Pizzo
Vienna
Published in
3 min readSep 9, 2019

--

PIVOT is a series of interviews with inspiring individuals who made major career shifts and decided to start LIVING instead of just making a living. We’re talking to engineers who became comedians, lawyers who became entrepreneurs, and everyone in between. These career chameleons are proof that your wildest job aspirations are possible- and that there is never just one path that will take you there. For a weekly dose of inspiration in your inbox, subscribe to our mailing list: https://mailchi.mp/83e53e22830f/vienna

Sarah Jordan studied psychology, but an unfortunate turn of events led her down an entirely different path. Now, she works as a face painter and henna artist.

At what point did you know you had to pursue art full-time?

It was ten years ago. I kept having panic attacks while driving to my job as a mental health case manager. I didn’t realize my body was trying to talk to me. Then I fainted while visiting a client in the hospital. The resulting head injury and PTSD made the decision for me. I couldn’t even drive for a while, let alone work a normal job anymore.

Did you receive any formal art and/or business training?

--

--

Kristen Pizzo
Vienna

mental health | LGBTQ+ | culture | food | ethical shopping