How I battle discouragement

Ryan Carson
Views from the Treehouse
2 min readSep 19, 2017

I get hella discouraged on a regular basis. I battle it with a simple strategy. Every weekday I wake up at 4:30am and look at a page in my notebook that states my “Why”.

My journal where I’ve written down my Why

It says …

Create the Future of Education so I can change as many lives as possible

Running Treehouse for seven years has been full of extreme highs and lows. The only thing that keeps me going is a deep sense of purpose that our mission truly matters.

I also read books like Phil Knight’s biography Shoe Dog because it reminds me that folks that have built amazing companies like Nike didn’t know what they were doing either and struggled severely.

Finally, I try to remind myself that it’s a daily commitment to small actions that will yield long-term results, not big-bang plans.

Hi, I’m Ryan, the Founder of Treehouse 👋😃

My mission is creating the future of education, so I can help as many people as possible. If you enjoyed this post, please give it a clap!

Please say hello on: Twitter, Instagram and iTunes

--

--

Ryan Carson
Views from the Treehouse

I'm a Father, entrepreneur and lover of movies. Founder and CEO of @treehouse.