How to change hearts and minds

Ryan Carson
Views from the Treehouse
1 min readSep 7, 2017

I’ve been learning how to be a better CEO and leader for 13 years now and I’ll continue to learn until I die. One small but important lesson I’ve learned during my journey building Treehouse is this …

I can use my power as a CEO/Founder to get things done, but it’s rarely effective.

I have a strong sense of where we need to go and I always want to get us there faster. For many years, I would use my power to order people to do things. Now, I’m learning to allow time to have several conversations to slowly win people over. Sometimes in that process they even change my mind 😃

It feels slower to have many conversations to get someone onboard with a big idea, but in hindsight, it’s actually much faster because you have real buy-in.

People aren’t machines and you can’t just instantly download your long-term point of view and vision. It has to be communicated and explained over many conversations.

Let’s get talking! 🗣👂

--

--

Ryan Carson
Views from the Treehouse

I'm a Father, entrepreneur and lover of movies. Founder and CEO of @treehouse.