The one thing no one tells you about starting your own business

Ryan Carson
Views from the Treehouse
2 min readSep 15, 2017

There is way too much emphasis on cash-burning high-growth tech companies right now.

Winning the approval of famous venture capitalists is touted as the key goal for early-stage companies. We booted up Treehouse with $50,000 of our own money plus a small-business loan from the bank. (How non-silicon-valley is that?!) We charged $25/mo from the very first day and we were profitable in three weeks.

Unfortunately I bought into the Silicon Valley hype and chose to raise venture capital and start burning cash. This was a huge distraction. After a lot of hard work and pain, we’re now financially viable, but we wasted a lot of time chasing growth at all costs instead of building a fundamentally sound business based on sustainable growth.

It turns out I’m not the only one that feels this way. Jennifer Brandel, Mara Zepeda, Astrid Scholz & Aniyia Williams started something called the Zebra Movement. I can’t wait to lean in and be a part of it!

Image credit: Jennifer Brandel, Mara Zepeda, Astrid Scholz & Aniyia Williams

Side note: I just listened to Sadie Lincoln’s interview on How I Built This (one of my favorite podcasts) and she also feels this way. More and more of us need to stand up and let our voices be heard on this.

Hi, I’m Ryan, CEO of Treehouse!

My mission is creating the future of education, so I can help as many people as possible. If you enjoyed this post, please give it a clap!

Say hello on: Twitter, Instagram and iTunes

--

--

Ryan Carson
Views from the Treehouse

I'm a Father, entrepreneur and lover of movies. Founder and CEO of @treehouse.