Quantum Leap Episode Review: Season Two, Ben & Teller

Jennifer R. Povey
Views of Other Planes
2 min readOct 17, 2023

--

Photo by Robert Bye on Unsplash

The pun was inevitable. Ben leaps into the body of an elderly bank teller, a grandmother. He’s become so used to presenting as female it doesn’t seem to make a difference any more.

But things are a lot different. During the three year time jump Addison has…moved on. His name is Tom. My knee jerk reaction was “She traded Ben in for that?” He doesn’t feel quite right.

And I don’t like love triangles. I mean, this is at least a mature love triangle between adults. I can’t imagine it turning into a love corner with Addison trapped.

But I only like love triangles when they’re resolved with Screw It, Polyamory, and I don’t see NBC going there.

So that’s unfortunate. I don’t hate it, but I don’t feel it improves the show. Either that or the three year time jump.

I trust this team enough, though, to be curious about what they’re going to do next.

Ben, meanwhile, with Ian still his hologram (Addison uses not changing horses mid stream as an excuse to delay telling him she broke up with him while he was dead, which seems rude but also understandable) has to save a bunch of bank hostages. Plus one of the robbers. Plus the relationship between the robber and his sister.

--

--

Jennifer R. Povey
Views of Other Planes

I write about fantasy, science fiction and horror, LGBT issues, travel, and social issues.