Who is Ncuti Gatwa

Jennifer R. Povey
Views of Other Planes
4 min readMay 9, 2022

--

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Me, Saturday night: They said a few weeks.

Me, Sunday morning: WHO is Ncuti Gatwa?

This is almost always my reaction. In fact I officially predicted in February that the new Doctor would be “Somebody who has not been mentioned in connection with the role.”

I was, of course, right.

I gave up predicting a while back. So, let’s take a look at our Fourteenth Doctor.

So, Who Exactly is Ncuti Gatwa?

Before we go any further, everyone please go to this video and watch it. It’s short, I promise.

It is not N-cuti, Kuti, and absolutely not “Cutie.” It is Shuti. It’s Rwandan and African languages transliterate weirdly.

Please get it right, or if you can’t, call him Fourteen. But I have faith in you all. You can get it right.

Ncuti Gatwa is a 29-year-old refugee from Rwanda who fled to Scotland with his parents at the age of 2. He is Scottish. Not vaguely connected to Scotland. Scottish. And Rwandan. So, we have an actor playing the Doctor who is a first generation immigrant, refugee, and survivor of genocide. He’s the first immigrant to land the role. He’s the first (and please hopefully the last) survivor of genocide. From his own words “I’m Scottish and Rwandan. I love that I come from both those…

--

--

Jennifer R. Povey
Views of Other Planes

I write about fantasy, science fiction and horror, LGBT issues, travel, and social issues.