Letter from the editor

Attiyya Atkins
VillijNews
Published in
2 min readJun 4, 2024

Summer, summer, summer time

It’s here. It’s hot. It’s sweaty. We’re used to it in Florida, but it’s hotter than before. Our Earth is burning up before us, and I can definitely feel it in the summertime, but it’s only spring! I don’t know how long it will take for us humans to get our act together and figure out a way to cure our Earth, but we need a solution fast. Industrialization and selfishness have pushed us into a world we can ignore issues and rely on technology to fix the problem, but ultimately create a new one. I think all the Earth’s residents need a prayer session, we all need to unite hands and pray over our soil, our trees, our waterways, our animals, and our families. We are so disconnected from the dirt from which we came. I speak to you, but I also speak of myself. When I first got my house, it was a priority to have a garden so I could give back to the Earth that has given to me. It’s cool in theory, but it takes work. Hard work that we are quick to dismiss or ignore at any sign of trouble. Watering and tending to my garden was one of the most relaxing and grounding things I used to do, but now with the heat… I’m not inclined. But without the water, without the care, the plants die. This universal principle applies to all that we do. This summer you will be tested… the temperature will be hot, but remember to water the things that are important to you.

--

--