What is the connection between Nadal, simplification and emerging markets?

VEON Careers
VEON Careers
Published in
4 min readOct 18, 2016

--

As a child, what did you dream you would be?

If you’ve reached that point, think about why you’ve made it. If not, think about what you need to do to get there. Because if you work hard enough and believe in yourself, nothing can stop you.

That’s what Abraham, the Simplification Manager for Emerging Countries here at VEON, thinks. Today, we learn about the path he has created — and how he is living his dream every day.

Can you tell us more about your interesting career path?

Well, I come from a technical background. I’ve worked with multiple operators in the UK and the also together with operators across Eurpoe, architecting large scale telecoms solutions. I’ve managed large transformation programs, which include the migration of millions of customers and associated key services. This opportunity at VEON is very exciting for me because it allows me to work in the commercial space, and I get to be a part of a huge global transformation project. This is a new venture and I’m up for it.

Your job also has a connection to your home country, right?

Yes, as my job title says, I’m a simplification manager for emerging markets. I am originally from Pakistan. This job brings me close to my home country, while at the same time it allows me this exciting new career path in the commercial sector of a global organisation.

Can you tell us more about your role at VEON in Amsterdam?

In a nutshell, my role is to ensure commercial requirements are fed into the Digital IT BSS stack program. Along with that, I also make sure the operating countries, which for me are Pakistan, Algeria and Bangladesh, are prepared from a commercial point of view to sign off on the requirements we’ve agreed upon at a Group level. I also make sure the product portfolio currently prevalent in these countries is simplified so that migrating the customer base is convenient and easy.

If you could give advice to your childhood self, what would you say?

That is a very cool question. What I would say is there is nothing called impossible. If you put in the effort and are passionate, everything can be accomplished. To a large degree, I’ve achieved what I’ve dreamt about. But it wouldn’t have happened if I didn’t work hard and believe in myself. In the end, you can create your own path.

So you’ve said you’re really into tennis. You also combine tennis with another part of your life. Tell us more?

Yes, I do. I play tennis with my kids. At this age, it’s not possible for me to become a Roger Federer or a Rafael Nadal however for my kids, I have this dream for them to play professional tennis. Right now, they’re taking proper lessons. In a way, they’re living out one of my childhood dreams.

Your team is hiring, right? If you could give advice to those seeking a job with your VEON customer service team, what would it be?

I think that VEON is a very exciting career move for somebody who has the drive and passion to succeed in a global thriving environment. We also need flexible and agile people that are comfortable with ambiguity. I think there is massive opportunity in terms of being a part of this great foundation that’s being laid. We span across a number of operating countries and interact with multi-discipline/ multicultural organisations.

What’s fun and beneficial about working on your VEON team?

There’s quite a bit of travel involved. Many people like seeing the world and having those experiences. Also, the international atmosphere here is amazing. It brings a lot of exposure to an individual. You meet people from all sorts of backgrounds and you learn how to cooperate with them. You can really develop yourself.

The story of Abraham tells us much about not losing sight of what you want in life. Now, it’s the dream of successfully managing the development of the telecommunications industry in emerging markets that’s driving Abraham to work hard. You too should keep working hard. Stay flexible — and be ready when the opportunity comes. Because you can also achieve great things.

--

--