A Beautiful Mess- My Vincentian Story, As Told Through Collage

Clara K.
Vincentian Heritage Tour
Jun 3, 2023

By Clara Kuhlman

One of the first ways I describe myself is as an artist. Art allows me to make sense of things in a more personal, impactful and saturated way- It is how I best retain knowledge, memories, how I uplift and affirm myself and others, and it is even how I engage deeper with my faith.

In order to process the wild wonder and adventure that was the Vincentian Heritage Tour, I have created a series of collages that contain bits of the goings-on of my heart and mind while on this Vincentian exploration. I hope you enjoy a glimpse into my Vincentian story!

An Introduction to the points that have brought me to my personal mission today.
Who has shaped my Vincentian Heart? There are too many to name. God has placed each wonderful person here in my life for a reason- to show me His love, His protection, His peace, His great plans for me! I wouldn’t be who I am without these people here, and the adventures I have had with them. At rough times, I look towards the many lovely people I haven’t yet met who I will love, and the plans God has for me.
My Personal Connection with St. Louise de Marillac- and my journey alongside her to learning to trust the will of God, and focus on the mission in front of me and on the promise God has made to fufill the deepest desires of my heart. (1 of 2)
Louise’s Lumiere reminds me of my own return to God, to abiding in Him. (2 of 2)
A significant experience on the Vincentian Heritage Tour that I hope to influence my own heart and actions- a visit to a very special place that embodies St. Vincent and Louise’s mission of radical love, from the big gestures down to the littlest details of fresh towels, a shower, flowers on tables, and a choice of jams.
Another personal encounter with a Daughter of Charity who left a legacy of love- Sr. Rosalie Rendu. I hope to emulate her commitment to service and receptivity of all people, no matter their socioeconomic standing.
My personal mission statement, after returning from the Vincentian Heritage Tour. I have the privilege of having so much responsibility- am I giving it my whole heart? What are the areas I can grow?
Personal mission- it can be easy to get lost in what is most important. What is true community? What does the lonely, college student need? I never want to be so concerned with trivial details or with my own comfort and doubt so as to meet the true needs of others.
My personal mission, fufilled also through my role as an artist. What am I doing to take steps closer to this calling that I so believe in, that I so believe that the world needs?

--

--