My Journey of Vincentian Leadership

Harriette Murtland
Vincentian Heritage Tour
5 min readMay 27, 2023
My mum and I

It would be wrong to start this reflection without first acknowledging the person who pushed me to take my first step as a Vincentian leader: my mother. I remember it clearly, freshman year fall quarter. I was new at DePaul, new to Chicago and had no idea what being Vincentian even meant.

I’ve had my fair share of arguments with my mother, mostly because of her encouragement for me to take on new tasks or more opportunities, some which I have always been too overwhelmed to try at first. It is definitely a bit overwhelming at times with all the things she tries to push me to do, but in the end, I am grateful for the constant motivation from her to get me out of my comfort zone.

It was during that time freshman year when she sent me information about a service immersion happening during winter break. Again, I pushed back against this. Why should I take time away from my first winter break home to go back to Chicago for this program? And yet again, I ended up applying.

This was my first immersion with Division of Mission and Ministry. First year Service Immersion in Chicago. During this trip, I was exposed to the idea of Vincentian service and reflection. Previously, I was only exposed to service hours during high school and this was a definitely a different ball game. I will never forget the overwhelming emotions that struck me during this trip. I was made to feel uncomfortable, emotional and inspired.

And inspired I truly was.

My first Service Immersion in Winter 2019 Chicago

Since then, I have been in the community with Division of Mission and Ministry, moving forward with taking on leadership positions in other Vincentian service immersions as well as job positions in the office.

Through those opportunities, I found myself connecting deeply with the Vincentian mission of community and service, Vincentian hospitality and human dignity. I not only reflected deeply on my own motivations for service and social change but found myself beginning to take on Vincentian leadership qualities that allowed me to help lead others, not only in Division of Mission and Ministry programs but within my DePaul community as a whole.

The power of Vincentian hospitality and loving community were standards I held my own organizations to. Within my own student organization, I implemented the role of Peace Circles as a way for my organization to connect deeply and for community members to share from heart to heart. This was inspired by my role on Senior Team where we connect every Thursday night to reflect on different topics together within a peace circle formation. My community loves this time to bond and it further connects my organization to the wider DePaul Vincentian community.

My film organization Delta Kappa Alpha

Leading up to my senior year after four years with Division of Mission and Ministry and gaining wisdom of Vincentian Leadership, I found the culmination of my journey coming to my final trip as a Vincentian Heritage Tour student. Not only was I craving to learn the rich history of Vincentian Heritage but I was excited to finally step into the physical journey of those Vincentian leaders who came before us.

My community on the Vincentian Heritage Tour

Throughout my studies during the Vincentian Heritage Tour, I have mainly about Louise but simultaneously, through this journey I have found that Rosalie’s story is also one that was very moving and important to me.

Rosalie’s story was during the time of intense turmoil. During the 19th century France, battles broke out after the revolution. It was a moment of intense opposition and Rosalie climbed the barricades to try and stop the fighting, putting her own life on the line to protect the wounded fighters no matter what their political leaning.

This story struck me in many ways. Not only does standing between political turmoil take courage and bravery, but the inner strength she has to stick to her morals of peace and aid surpasses the fear of the dangers she was facing.

I fully understood the importance of this story and of Rosalie’s impact after visiting Saint Medard Church and seeing the statue of Rosalie with her sister’s bonnet protecting the city. This piece of art moved me deeply, and reminded me of the sacrifices and dedication Rosalie made to protect the people and all the people.

Rosalie Statue at Saint Medard Church

This story from Rosalie as well as the way I was moved by the work of art that represented her character, inspires me to stay brave and dedicated to the issues in the world I am passionate about and to protect others, inviting them under my safe protection and creating an environment of community that I know Rosalie did.

During this time in our country, I have been greatly hurt by the harm that is brought to my community. As part of the LGBTQ+ community, hearing the constant harm and hatred and violence that our trans community face from the disgraceful politics in our country, I cannot rest. My Vincentian leadership has strengthened me with values of the human community, and my community needs to feel valued with dignity more than ever.

I must do my own part to protect my own communities just as Sister Rosalie did, no matter how scary or how dangerous the context may be. Through my writings, I will represent my community, represent trans stories and trans perspectives and will never comply to any harassment or hatred. This is my personal mission for the world until love for the human spirit is resonant through all.

I thank DePaul University and Division of Mission and Ministry for my journey and I thank my mother for pushing me down this journey. And of course, I thank the LGBTQ+ community for staying strong during harsh times.

--

--