Unveiling My Purpose: Affirmation Outside Vincentian Values

Vick-Ariel Privert
Vincentian Heritage Tour
5 min readJun 8, 2023

I remember the cold of my living room when my mother and I were deliberating over which university I wanted to attend that fall. It was down to two schools; I had my heart set on one, but it was not DePaul. My mother also preferred the other school because it was Jesuit, and she had been very familiar with this approach to education. After some thought, I realized that I had probably been a better fit here at DePaul. Neither my mom nor I knew anything about Vincentians, but we ultimately decided it would be worth it. Coming to DePaul, I was told so much about St. Vincent and Louise, and was constantly told to think about, “What must be done?” The message wasn’t necessarily religious, but it called for a service-based approach to pretty much everything.

Once I completed my first year at DePaul, I still wasn’t exactly sure what the Vincentian mission was, but I had an idea. The summer following my freshman year, I settled into my role as Director of Public Relations for the Black Student Union (BSU). As I created content and managed our social media profiles, I realized the power of using communication to address institutional challenges. This experience allowed me to embody Vincentian leadership by advocating for the better treatment of Black students at my university. Another executive board member, a dear friend of mine, and I co-authored a list of demands on behalf of the BSU, addressed to the president of the university, and other members of the administration. This catalyzed a series of events that led to the materialization of some of our action items. Despite the low success rate, this experience undoubtedly highlighted the importance of service and the shared commitment to make a positive difference.

The next year I was elected president of this student organization, and that same fall began my role as a Student Leader in the Sankofa Black Student Formation Program. With full confidence, I felt I finally understood the Vincentian mission and why it was so important. Just a few months later, I was invited to be a member of the Task Force to Address Vincentians’ Relationship with Slavery, as the only student member. This was undoubtedly a turning point for me. The revelation that the Vincentians had owned slaves contradicted the mission I had come to embrace. It created a dissonance within me, questioning the values I had been taught.

Initially, witnessing the university’s response and the mobilization of individuals to address this historical injustice reaffirmed the power of the Vincentian mission. However, it was only a matter of time before I noticed just how hard it was to genuinely enforce change. Our meetings with the Vincentian priests of the Western Province (some on our campus) did not go nearly as I expected. DePaul, still with some degrees of separation from these malicious acts, was nonetheless complicit, and while the university was ready to allocate resources to fixing this maligned act, the Vincentians weren’t as lenient.

Seeing my program’s coordinator, Minister Colvin, relentlessly continue to advocate for what we all knew was correct was both comforting and confusing. They are someone who I’ve seen champion the Vincentian cause in new ways and inspire me to continue to do so. Someone who has played a part in my Vincentian formation; one that I took very seriously, and boasted proudly. Seeing them feel the same things I experienced could not have been more assuring.

This exact challenge that I faced is what has called me to ask, what must be done? We are called to accept these ideas as sacred and fundamental, but when those same ideas were used to hurt people just like me; so I have to ask, what must be done? Not in the Vincentian sense but in the literal sense. What must I do, now that the words I’ve evangelized to members of my community aren’t inclusive to us? Despite this, I was still hopeful. I was still hopeful that the Vincentian mission held an element of compassion to it.

In March of 2023, when I got the opportunity to travel to Paris for the Vincentian Heritage Tour, I was unfortunately faced with the fact that this compassion was in fact, conditional. I appreciated the opportunity to learn from those who’d strongly followed in the footsteps of the Vincentians, but I failed to resonate with their message. I’d heard someone tell us about these young boys Vincent educated and how he’d spank or paddle them at times. Is this Vincentian? I heard about his opportunity to do something amazing at the complex of St. Lazare, but our guide couldn’t explicitly tell us what good was done here other than Vincent and his friends gathering. Throughout my leadership journey at DePaul, I’ve encountered a plethora of people with resources they wanted to share with the Black community and they needed my help in getting that out there. Needless to say, I was hoping to receive some sort of divine inspiration as to how St. Vincent knew to delegate and assign resources, but this was not what was shared with me. Is this Vincentian?

Ultimately, we were able to hear about how the Vincentian mission lives on today, and this was slightly more appealing. During our visit to DePaul France, that glimmer of hope returned, and I felt as though the mission could inspire change for many. I heard about the realities of the housing crisis in Paris and how DePaul France was able to contribute something meaningful and positive to those experiencing housing insecurity. It may have been precisely at this moment that my mission was truly formed.

My mission is a commitment to fighting for an inclusive society where compassion is at the forefront of everything we do. I appreciate Vincentian wisdom but it’s not exactly for me. However, I can draw upon these fundamental aspects of service and dignity, and I will strive to bring about positive change that respects and uplifts the rights and dignity of all individuals. I recognize that true service is not about imposing obligations on others or treating community as a burden but rather celebrating and appreciating the unique differences that each individual brings to the table.

Upon obtaining a law degree, I hope to use my legal expertise to challenge injustice and promote fairness, striving to create a world where every person is treated with respect and afforded the same rights and opportunities, regardless of their background. I am dedicated to addressing the historical injustices that have marginalized certain communities, while also recognizing the complexities and nuances that exist within these issues. I will actively engage in meaningful dialogue, collaboration, and allyship to ensure that the voices of those who have been silenced or oppressed are heard and empowered.

Above all, I truly feel guided by a deep commitment to compassion, empathy, and understanding. I want to play a part in fostering connections and building bridges between different communities, promoting dialogue and mutual respect. I will advocate for policies and practices that prioritize the well-being and advancement of all individuals, particularly those who have been historically marginalized or disadvantaged. I hope that these efforts may play at least a small part in bettering our society and guaranteeing justice, equality, and inclusivity for all.

--

--