Vincent Who?

Teyoh Mansaray
Vincentian Heritage Tour
5 min readApr 6, 2018

How does a man who lived over 400 years ago in a country that I have no positive connection to, relate to the world today and my life? This is the question I had to ask myself multiple times and only recently realized the answer. Before embarking on this experience, I consider myself a Vincentian amateur. Meaning I knew little to nothing about Vincent de Paul and his impact on the world. Luckily after 10 weeks of intensive study and a trip across the Atlantic, I have a firm understanding of who Vincent was and what he and others like him did to change the world.

Before I can talk about Paris I have to set some context. I am Muslim and a first-generation Sierra Leonean who identifies as a woman. I grew up in a household where generosity and compassion were fundamental characteristics to be a good person, so charity was something I saw on a daily basis. Thus, my view of charity is so much more than a volunteering occasionally or donating funds to an organization. It’s a mindset in which you put yourself in the shoes of those without and give what you have in order to ensure their safety, comfort, and needs. It’s not a good deed, it’s a responsibility and I take my responsibilities seriously.

Just as a disclaimer, this was my first trip abroad so before going I was preoccupied with figuring out how to navigate a new country so what I would actually be learning was an afterthought. One thing I can say for sure is France has a lot of churches. Though it is a secular country, it has a long history of religion and that history is reflected and maintained in present day. Europe has never been a go to spot for me because of its extensive history of colonization, so my initial goal going into the trip was trying to understand the world Vincent lived in and the way the present world reflects it.

During the trip we visited the palaces that nobility lived in during Vincent’s time. I expected to be in awe but I found myself disgusted when I observed these homes. The level of money, time and effort put into these places made absolutely zero sense when a significant portion of the country was poor and suffering. It really highlighted the economic disparity of money and power that is still present today. It made me question how much has the world and humanity really grown if people are able to live in such luxury while others are dying because they lack basic needs.

I thought of how I learned Vincent would dress the same no matter if he was interacting with the poor or nobility. Hearing it at first was like a fun fact, but it didn't hit home how iconic he was for doing that until I saw the homes that nobility at that time stayed in. I dressed up those days simply because I wanted to match the decor so I can’t imagine meeting the people that lived in that excess of wealth and not dressing up. This really proved how dedicated Vincent was to being authentic and showing up to everyone as the person he was. In a world where being fake is a societal norm, this made me reflect on how I am showing up in people’s lives. Am I being my full and authentic self or am I exaggerated or lessening myself in order to be who I think people expect me to be?

One of the biggest takeaways I took from this trip was how privilege can be used in order to help those without. Vincent de Paul was a priest who established relationships with people in power in order to increase the measure of charity and relieve suffering of the poor, neglected, old, and disabled. He also established relationships with those he was helping in order to further understand their needs and struggles. He used other’s privilege in order to help the needs of those who were suffering and he used his own privilege in order to connect with and learn from those suffering. To make a positive impact on others you need to understand yourself then utilize what you have to make the lives of those without it better. It also goes to show the weight that relationships have on your life and your success.

How do you find your purpose? Is it something you just one day wake up with? Is it a buildup of experiences? Are you born with it? One thing I know is that the experience varies, and it is not guaranteed for everyone. The world we live in today has such an individualistic mentality that finding your purpose has become a thing that serves a person’s needs and wants without taking into account doing something bigger than yourself.

Being in a Vincentian university has given me the privilege to not only attend a trip to France but also to be reaffirmed of my purpose in the world. DePaul has the unique ability to encourage its students to not only succeed but change the world they live in. I have always heard good things about Vincent de Paul but I have never really looked into him because he shared no characteristics with me. Learning more about him and seeing how his mission can be extended to transcend race, gender, sexuality, ability, class, age etc.. shows me that I can relate to him simply because of his passion to help others. He understood the systemic issues occurring in his society and sought to help by coming up with long term solutions and it took his whole life to establish communities that would ensure his goal was achieved.

I came to DePaul in order to become an educator who can impact the younger generation positively so that they can impact the world positively. I know how important education is for bettering yourself and giving you the tools to change the world around you. Ignorance is bliss and when you do not know the suffering of those around you, then it is easy to live life only worrying about yourself. Being aware of the world you live in is a fundamental step to changing it for the better. I want to instill this perspective in my teaching and also the impact and effect that positive and healthy relationships with people can really enrich your life.

--

--