Weezy

Sarah Dababneh
Vincentian Heritage Tour
3 min readJun 9, 2022
The Chapel of the Miraculous Medal (left) and my vision board (right).

On the last Saturday of February, I was making a vision board as a part of a student leader retreat at DePaul. I had no real sense of direction while creating it and selected images I wanted to place on my board simply based on the fact that I felt drawn to them. I found myself being strongly drawn to an image of a church. I do not attend mass, but I do have an appreciation for beautiful reflective spaces. I may have just been pulled in by the dreamy blue and white colors or the angelic imagery, but I decided to add it to my vision board without a second thought. Little did I know that the gold letters were inviting me in.

Venez au pied de cet autel la les graces seront repandues sue yous.

Come to the foot of this altar where the graces will be spread over you.

I did not know the name or location of this place, yet that didn’t bother me. I just wanted to appreciate the tiny newsletter clipping of this beautiful unknown church.

A few weeks later, I was midway through my VHT journey. An incredible opportunity that I had was to meet with the Daughters of Charity at the Motherhouse. I am not here to pick favorites, but I was so excited to have the chance to see Louise’s legacy, as much of Vincentian history is centered around Vincent de Paul.

There were so many churches that we were able to explore, however my personal favorite that I found to be so breathtaking was the Chapel of the Miraculous Medal. I was able to go inside, and it was so beautiful to look at. The pews were filled with people admiring it. I looked at one woman sitting in a center pew, her head bowed down in prayer, with a black lace veil draped over her head. Immediately I was reminded of my grandmother, who had the same veil, and whose head was often turned down, silently whispering in prayer.

I always felt a sort of connection to Louise. Maybe it was because she was a woman that history refused to forget. Maybe it was because she shared a similar name to my grandmother, Lwiza. Or maybe it was because Father Ed would so lovingly refer to her as “Weezy,” a nickname I have long-used for my youngest sister, Louisa. Whatever the case, I felt such a strong connection to Louise and that church in those moments.

I spent only a few minutes actually inside the church, as I felt a bit overwhelmed with emotion. I took a few pictures so I would be able to reminisce on the beautiful church after I returned back from my trip and stepped outside for fresh air, continuing on my journey.

After returning home, I saw my vision board still sitting on my table where I had left it all those weeks before. I stared at it intently, trying to figure out what felt so strange about it. My eyes were focused on the unknown church I had added to it. I quickly pulled out my phone to confirm. The unnamed church on my vision board was in fact the same church I had gone to visit in Paris. It was the Chapel of the Miraculous Medal. It felt unreal that something I had placed on my vision board had actually manifested into my real life. I was invited to the altar, where I felt grace envelop me. It felt like a sign that those moments in the chapel were special and really unforgettable. It felt like a reminder that I am on the right path.

The Vincentian mission has helped me feel such a strong sense of connection to hope, justice, and spirituality during my time at DePaul University. I couldn’t have imagined how this mission would play such an important role in my personal, professional, and academic life, but I have been so inspired by Vincentian charism, service, and hospitality, that I can’t imagine letting go of it now. Whenever I have felt most lost during my college years, I have found guidance in the values and people connected to the mission. I know it will continue to guide me as I prepare to graduate, and I feel incredibly grateful for the opportunities the Vincentian Heritage Tour gave me.

--

--