The Vinter Whitepaper of 2019

Jacob Lindberg
Vinter
Published in
3 min readMar 2, 2023

This post links to ten blog posts on the topic of crypto indexing. Every word in these ten posts comes from a single source — the Vinter Whitepaper. I wrote it in January 2019 during a two-week vacation in Thailand. I wrote every day from 6 am to 9 am, followed by breakfast and a lazy day near the beach. At that time, I worked on the trading floor at the largest Nordic bank. When I couldn’t concentrate on my day job anymore (because I only thought about building a crypto index provider), I had no choice but to quit.

Together with my co-founders, we incorporated Vinter at the end of May 2019. We had no money. Since I was an ex-banker, it was my job to get money. During the fundraising process, I used the texts you’re about to read to battle angel investors’ initial skepticism that I was just another crazy crypto guy. I wasn’t. The 30 pages in our Whitepaper.pdf indicated how much thought we had put into our side project. I managed to convince a few risk-embracing angel investors to back us, partly thanks to the texts you are about to read. In September 2019, I decided to put some of the readers from the Whitepaper.pdf into smaller chunks in the form of blog posts. Today, four years later, most of the arguments are as relevant as when I wrote them in January 2019 as the sun was rising.

If you want to read the entire Whitepaper.pdf here you go:

Notice that we changed our name from Vinter Capital to Vinter after publishing the Whitepaper.

A white paper. Photo by Marjan Blan | @marjanblan on Unsplash

--

--