Mine Ebenezer

or, “An Open Thank You To Union”

Karl Magnuson
Virtual Field Notes

--

How do you sum up a life in a few words?
How do you measure the weight of a soul in a matter of moments?
You do not. You cannot.
But you can pray for rest, and you can pray for light.
And you can remember.
You can always remember.

As the crow flies, I sit 689 miles from the campus of Union University, but with today’s means of communication, the distance doesn’t mean the same thing as it used to. I’ve been able to keep up with the events of last month, though I haven’t known quite what to make of them. I cannot imagine having to process what Union students have had to process on campus, as nothing like this happened during my four years. Even arriving on campus on the heels of the devastating tornado and seeing the residual shock and fear many of my new friends experienced is different than this. If I had been on campus as a student during either of these two horrible events, I do know how I would have been able to weather them, because my four years revealed something intrinsic to Union’s composition—the strength of its community.

For many people, this may be as far as you need to read, and I admit there may be little to no applicable value in the rest of this post, but I wanted to reflect on my time at Union because I think it is critical to look back on your experiences and learn. The story of 1 Samuel 7 is a microcosmic picture of the people of Israel in the Old Testament. It is a story of a people who have sinned and turned away from their God, and suffer the consequences. They finally repent (they turn their hearts back to God) and find God willing and able to save them from their enemies (and from their sin), and additionally find God eager to restore peace and joy. Samuel realizes it is an ongoing process, and in order to help keep the people on the right track, we see in verse 12, “…Samuel took a stone and set it up between Mizpah and Shen and called its name Ebenezer; for he said, ‘Till now the Lord has helped us.’” He recognizes the “Till now”, seeing how easily it is for forgetfulness to blind faith and obedience. His response is to memorialize the experience and keep the memories fresh in the minds of a fickle people. The meaning behind “Ebenezer” illuminates the beauty of these words:

Here I raise mine Ebenezer;
hither by thy help I’m come;

Hither by His help I’ve come, and here are my memories. I wrote them as they came to me, with a twofold purpose: one, that I might reflect with gratitude on the blessings I’ve received from my four years at Union, including the blessings drawn from sorrow and difficulty, and two, that I might remind and encourage us all to spend some amount of time looking back to see what may be gleaned from our past in order to better cherish the present. They are thorough in one sense but also not thorough enough. Some obscure stuff is noted at the expense of some major events. Omission does not indicate lack of importance, I promise. Part of the problem is that some memories lead to others and my brain gets a little overwhelmed. This is not a highlight reel as much as it is randomly accessed memories. If you think of other things, I’d love to reminisce!

If this doesn’t interest you, feel free to skip to the bottom for a final suggestion, an offer and a prayer, and make sure to watch the compilation videos I posted as “further reading”.

I remember the first time I set foot on Union’s campus. I met Greg and Kimberly Thornbury on the outdoor patio of the newly remodeled Barefoots Joe. Exiting the SUB to my left was an empty brown patch of ground where dormitories had been razed by a tornado weeks earlier.

I remember signing up for Engineering in the small gym during Freshman registration—Dr. Van was the first Engineering professor I met, and I owe so much of my education to him as the head of the department. Ready, Aim, Fire, not Ready, Fire, Aim.

I remember meeting Jessica Yates, my Focus group leader. I shared my first weekend at Union with Travis Sims, Ryan Gibbons, Mary Beth Moore, Angela Hill, Skylar Murray and Chase Tuggle among others. I would get to know some of these people well, some not so well, throughout my four years.

That one time…

I remember the girl with the yellow Xtera who somehow managed to drive it up onto a utility box, where it sat for a decent amount of time. I loved living in Heritage with all of the other freshmen, and the many games of ultimate frisbee played in the common area between classes during those early months.

I remember the original “focus couple” and all their eccentricities. I also remember how often it was easier to find people to be entertained by, and sometimes even make fun of, than to admit some level of insecurity we all felt as new students in a new environment.

I remember one of the first times I interacted with Stephen Lynch, the SGA President at the time. He caught TJ Hester and I unlocking all the preset locks in the mail room, and instead of reprimanding us he thought it was hilarious. I was UU box 0933.

I remember seeing Coutney Allen and Luke Allison playing basketball on the outdoor court on my walk from the SUB to Heritage. I wish I had worked at developing a better friendship with Luke, especially since we were both from Louisville originally.

I remember the note from Dr. Dockery when I was selected to serve on Freshman Council. His words “Thanks for your demonstration of service to others as we seek to build a Christ-centered and people-focused community” laid the foundation for my underlying goal in serving in SGA, even if I strayed away from my intention throughout my involvement.

I remember notes from my parents like this one: “You are always at the top of our prayers and thought. Drink lots of water - take Juice Plus - eat healthy and invest in people’s lives.”

I remember the t-shirt cannon engineering project.

I remember Freshman Council retreat and the bonding and friendship built over Josh Allen’s rendition of “hot seat”. Rook, Rob Alvey’s river house, The Devil Wears Prada and Andy Seaton grabbing a leadership voice that would earn him Freshman Council Chair. It was a humbling experience when I lost to him. We served with Rob Simpson, Megan Bailey, Megan Thompson, Caraline Rickard, Reid Benson, Anna Ezell, Joel Wellum, Kristin Tisdale, Meredith Gunn, Molly Mercker and our other counselor Rachel Donaldson. Some of them like Caraline I continued to see at events like TISL. Some, like Megan and Rob I had the privilege of playing music with at Englewood. Some, like Joel, I didn’t spend much time with until after Union. But they are all important to me in my retrospection.

I remember developing friendships with older students like Stephen and Mallory, who played such a huge role in shaping my early Union experience. I remember near-nightly hour-long talks on the sidewalks with them, and Christmas parties and Lamberts runs with Sarah, Leigh, Elizabeth, Rob, Katy and others. I remember sharing an excitement with “SarKar” about the third High School Musical movie. I remember the unsolicited gifts they gave. I didn’t deserve the kindness and faithfulness they showed.

I remember camping out and pretending to light the campfire with a new iPod touch with a fake lighter app.

Back when we used iChat…

I remember staying in touch with old friends, whether on iChat on my old MacBook Pro (I still love that computer) or by driving to Murray State to whisk them to Union, hoping they would transfer. Investing in existing relationships is always a worthwhile decision, despite difficulties.

I remember “Whatever You Like” and “Live Your Life” by TI. And that video of the kids adapting the former for the 2008 election. And Rob and Katy dancing to the latter in the parking lot.

I remember the impulse decision to drive with TJ to Birmingham to see Relient K at WorkPlay with our friend Spen…I mean, James Holmes. We barely stayed awake as we drove back starting at 1:30 AM, texting chacha as a means of entertaining ourselves. We made it back after 6 AM, just in time for Old Testament Survey with Dr. Van Neste.

I remember the countless other concerts of my first year: Augustana at MTSU, Charlie Hall and Phil Wickham at Union, Hillsong United in Nashville, Brooke Waggoner at Barefoots, The Fray and Jack’s Mannequin in Indianapolis, Keith Urban at the KY State Fair. The music was always worth it, but I remember them for the company I went with.

TISL 2008

I remember how my hesitancy to attend the Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature my first year was quickly replaced with yearly anticipation for the event. My first experience in Downtown Nashville was great, even though I caused injury to Katie at BB Kings. I think now how funny it is how friendships develop — Brad Boswell was on my first delegation but it took moving to Boston four years later to fill out my relationship with him and Erin. I am thankful we get second chances to keep good friends.

I remember when midnight movies were the social highlight of the week, and Humboldt became the go-to destination.

I remember the time I left my dorm wearing a bandana and a hat. The bandana…well I can’t remember why I was wearing it. But I was rightly ridiculed for it. Those kind of things will keep you in check.

I remember my Common Foundations trip to New York. What strange foreshadowing that I would travel to New York with Greg and Jennifer before their respective transitions to King’s! This group was an all-star group. Looking back, I am so grateful to have gone with Anne Guiler and develop a friendship with her since I will be standing as her fiancé’s best man this summer. You can’t plan these things.

I remember fighting with friends over the appropriateness of skipping church on Wednesday nights because LOST was on. And I remember watching the last season and feeling like an era was coming to an end. Which is not dissimilar to how I felt when we watched the end of 24 at the Clarke’s place. For the record, television is best enjoyed with a big group of friends together.

I remember breaking open dorm hours between J-Term and Spring semester in order to borrow a DVD, and getting “caught”. I never learned to be a very good flagrant rule breaker.

Paschall 56

I remember my Freshman roommates Micah, Nathan and Ben. Though they were not my best friends during my time at Union, they were great, encouraging people to live with. We all were involved in different activities and organizations on campus, and sure, we fought about what TV to use and where to put it, but we had the wraparound storage space in our rooms, so life was better than ok. Paschall was was a loaded building with Jordan, Nate, Zac, Mark, TJ, Ryan, Lucas, J, Wade, Kelly, Patrick, Trey, Michael and Grant among its residents.

I remember Chick-Fil-A. All the time. And the First 100 openings. If you know, you know. I mean, I ate at CFA a couple times a week for three years without spending a dollar.

I remember the soundproof practice rooms in Jennings, especially the ones with the acoustic settings to make it sound like a cathedral.

Priceless

I remember knowing about people I later actually knew. One example is Stephen Capps. For a good year and a half he was just the shirtless guy in that one picture of Rachel. But he’s actually a witty music lover who I’ve now hung out with in several cities across the country. Don’t pigeon-hole people.

I remember when Anna accidentally locked herself out of her car. And her credit card was inexplicably sitting on the front seat in plain view. One of those cry about it now, laugh about it later situations.

I remember when Rob Alvey talked after sucking helium out of a balloon.

I remember late night conversations about university presidents, grand pianos, maranatha praise music and catheters made out of bamboo…all while binge watching House on DVD. Conversations in college are magic.

I remember Skyping Anna Ezell while in Honors 100 with Abby Nolen.

Freshman snow day

I remember getting to know Bradford Carrington. My initial impression was somewhat indifferent, but he quickly proved to be a loyal friend. He is thoughtful and multi-talented. And one time we bought a ton of raw meat and seafood at Kroger and cooked it and ate it.

I remember when I found out my friend Taylor Rose died in a car accident. I drove back to Jackson from Louisville, trying to comprehend the fact that he was not on earth any longer. Natalie and I played “Yesterdays” by Switchfoot, which helped me find some peace in the confusion. There is a love that means our goodbyes are temporary.

I remember July 25, 2009, the first time I had the honor of serving as a groomsman. What bigger honor is there to serve as an official witness to one of the biggest decisions two people can make during their lives? Do we choose to develop relationships deep enough to qualify us for this sort of honor? Isn’t the beauty of a college community the intimacy we can experience with each other as we pilgrim through the formative years of our lives? I will always try to be there for Stephen and Mallory, because they asked me to in asking to stand in their wedding. I hope we all can find opportunities to serve each other like this, because these types of friendships are fountainheads of joy.

I remember the summer of Taylor Swift, the Jonas Brothers, exciting new relationships, Six Flags and Cafe World. Effectively being a nanny all summer and loving it. Using the kids as an excuse to watch Disney Channel. Guilty. Summer heat, swimming and country music…details grow hazy but it seems now like the very stuff of country songs. So scared of growing older when I was only good at being young.

I remember when I started to use Twitter on my cell phone. My LG EnV2 to be exact. You texted your tweets to a number and it posted them for you. Infamously, “I like that Kirby kid”.

Sophomore Year

I remember Nathan, Daniel and Josh. Late nights of Dragonball Z on DVD, chiropractic back adjustments, more CoD than any other year of college and being the only non-ATO in the room. But being ok with that, because they helped me to see the benefits of fraternity life that I maybe would have missed entirely otherwise—they truly looked out for each other. Oh, and the one time Nathan squashed a live mouse with his bare foot outside our room. The blood stain is still there on the sidewalk.

I remember when Cobo (oops, excuse me, “Brewer”) got a new director over J-Term. But more importantly, STIR FRY.

I remember the weird jedi-stick-fights in the Watters quad. Not that I understand it…

I remember Libby, Cassie, Mazie and Rachel. And the pod. And Cassie’s cat one-sy. Mostly the pod. That room was QUITE a room, in the best way!

7:02 — a service of praise and remembrance

I remember the opening of the new Bowld Commons. It was in many ways the capstone of the rebuilding from the 2008 tornado, and though I wasn’t directly impacted, I could clearly see the impact it had on the students in the grades above me. I recall very clearly sitting in the Lex with Kevin Bradley, listening to his stories of 2/5/08 and struggling to imagine what it would have been like to live through that night. I was honored to be able to take part in the service we held to commemorate the two year anniversary of the tornado at 7:02, because Union was my community now too, and it is a blessing to remember together, even if the memories are not originally yours.

I remember having tornado scares of our own, almost constantly. I think half of my time at Union was spent in the [first floor] bathroom with 7 other people while we waited out the sirens.

I remember the 2010 Winter Olympics and how I spent most of my time during those two weeks in the Bowld, in a room I christened the “Ski Lodge”. Actually, someone else came up with the name but I loved it and championed it as much as possible. Those were magic times. Thanks to everyone who watched with me. And thanks to Bob Costas.

I remember struggling to live up to the marks I set for myself. I expected myself to have it all together and to “be mature”. But I received Bs when I could have earned As (I try not to remember Calculus II…), I misappropriated my time, I mishandled relationships, I let uncertainty become an excuse, I acted selfishly and I hurt people because of my carelessness.

I remember Focus Week. I mean, there was never a better week of the year. Though I never served as a Focus leader (*cough cough* KAREN *wink*), I was always there a week or two before the majority of students. First as a Freshman going through orientation myself, and then helping out wherever I could with the move in and new student activities. Most years I took pictures. One thing astounds me to this day — I took hundreds of pictures of new students and their parents, 99% of which were random. At the time I didn’t know these people at all. But looking back now some of the people in those pictures are some of my best friends. I’ve got some great ones of Morgan Turner in particular. I feel like Malcolm Gladwell might have some theories on why this happened. Or alternatively, it speaks to the incredible family Union always develops into.

PS — Karen, I’m not mad any longer. And I apologize for my hurt pride and for never applying again. Yet another way you and Jason helped me develop as a student and as a person. :-)

I remember short hair Ellen.

I remember fondly the Union staff. People like Tina and Carol who always welcomed me into the room with a genuine smile. Or Joey, who was so tall, and equal parts terrifying and hilarious. The “mail ladies” who were always incredible and super fun to talk to (sorry about ringing the mail room bell all those times!) The fact is, so many of them made a huge difference in my life, and I know I’m not alone in that. And of course…

I remember Jason Castles, Joy Moore and Karen Taylor. These were the people I worked with most. I remember the countless hours sitting in Jason’s office, well honestly, just being annoying. I stole plenty of those UU Camelback water bottles, but the advice and encouragement he gave me freely is much more valuable, and lasts with me to this day. I loved working with Joy and her other student workers like John Dawson. And I will ALWAYS love her for coming through on my freshman year request to book Jon Foreman at Union. And Karen, well. Where to even begin. Dinner club. Freshman Council. She actually rearranged her office just so she could try to prevent me from sneaking up and scaring her (which failed). She heard all of my angst and griping (though so did Lee Wilson through the open door…he’s gracious enough to never rib me about it!) for four years, and taught me 16 Field Notes worth of stuff at least. Thank you for being there for students like me, your mark(s) run deep and true.

The Civil Wars at Barefoots

I remember junior year concerts like Brooke Fraser, the Civil Wars, Dave Barnes and Ben Rector. College was a great time for music. Before Spotify and Rdio there was shared music libraries on iTunes. It saddens me that my kids won’t understand what that was like.

I remember Dr. Russ, and how my infamous “so A-not is not A” gaffe meant I would seem funny and somewhat baffling to her. She was one of the best teachers I’ve ever had because she taught rigorous material in an unrelenting way, but more uniquely, she cared enormously for her students. In case you’re reading this Dr. Russ — I know I speak for more than just myself in saying that we noticed, and in my case, it meant a lot to know I was more than a number on an attendance sheet. If I am ever a professor, I hope to follow your lead.

I remember 8 AM classes and brown sugar cinnamon pop tarts.

I remember the one time I got a $120 ticket from Safety and Security, for (apparently) 1. speeding on campus, 2. driving around speed bumps into the grass, 3. driving recklessly in the parking lots and 4. avoiding the Safety and Security guard. The truth was, it was a quiet Sunday afternoon and I had just jumpstarted my battery and was driving around to juice it up a bit. I admit to the avoiding speed bumps…

I-65, Louisville to Nashville

I remember countless carpools to Louisville and back. I still have mix CDs from those trips (thanks Libby!!), which always make me smile. And the time I hit a pothole and had to duct tape parts of my car back onto the chassis. Kari will likely never forgive me for that nightmare of a ride. And I remember when Haley and Rachel and I were stuck in traffic on I-65 south for hours. #handstands

I remember the ebb and flow of everyday life at Union. I loved the weekly schedules, which were always similar but always slightly different. I loved Senate and All Staff meetings. I looked forward to excursions to Kirby’s farm or lake house. Camping out in the PAC to supervise votes and sign ups. Always being slightly less than satisfied by the Lex food. Constantly poking holes in the styrofoam cups. “A-salt-ing” people. I find the richness in the minutia when I look back.

I remember never expecting the wifi to work.

I remember Junior Year SGA retreat at Micah’s lakehouse. I learned in college that you will always, involuntary, have a core group of “people”. SGA was that group for me. That trip represents on a small scale what student government meant to me as a whole, and I will always cherish those memories.

I remember the 4-1-3. That was a shock. In a great way.

I remember Dr. Bernheisel. I learned a lot from him in the classroom, and always looked forward to having him as a professor. But hearing him wax philosophical on his personal health difficulties and the implications, ethical or otherwise, fostered in me a deep respect for him. He modeled bravery, intelligence, inquisitiveness and peace for me in a way no one else has.

Famous people

I remember a ton of great things about TISL. I remember wanting to be a “four-termer” like Katie, Micah and Ryan. I remember when we met Craig Ferguson. It was always one of the best experiences of the year, mostly because of the awesome people I went with. People like Katie, who modeled wisdom, patience and clarity of thought whenever I needed any of those things modeled. To this day, I consider her one of the wisest people my age that I know. People like Courtney and Holly, Josh and Ryan, Jenaye and Stephen, Jeff and Micah. I will remember our shared experiences for a long, long time.

I remember countless Rockabilly nights.

I remember echô and the refreshing times of prayer and reflection I was privileged to be a part of. I loved Sunday nights in the chapel or D3. And I loved having incredibly talented people like Natalie to sing with.

I remember how some periods of my four years I buried mentally, whether because of perceived monotony or because of my embarassment. How I wish now I would have remembered more.

I remember Karts 4 Hart, concerts at Casey Jones and bonfires.

Grace & Hope

I remember our “sister” room. Kylie, Shelly, Sarah and Hannah—so many of my best memories involve these four girls, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. They were always fun, encouraging and hilarious. My relationship with each of them is different, but all of them will always have my respect and I will always look back so fondly on our shared memories. I distinctly remember how content I felt having such good friends. Denim on denim is denim on denim. You all rock, don’t ever change.

I remember when All-Sing used to be a thing.

I remember being so excited to serve as Student Body President. I could hardly wait to get started. And my SGA Exec staff was stellar. I loved Skype-planning meetings with Kylie McDonald, the best VP I could have asked for. Even if time reveals my longest lasting accomplishment to be ordering those faded red, vintage-style SGA sweatshirts, I was so blessed to serve alongside the people I did and don’t regret a minute of it.

I remember Dr. Schwindt. He was the most challenging professor I had, and I to this day marvel at how smart he is. He is smart. And he didn’t ever back down from the task of teaching us. To this day, when I start to feel the urge to slack off on whatever I am working on, the habits Dr. Schwindt helped instill hold firm and help me to focus and work. He taught the first class I took at Union and the very last. Without his influence, I would know a lot less about microelectronics and BJTs, and I would not know how to learn like I do.

I remember waiting until 3AM to order my first iPhone online.

Ultimate Luke

I remember the Pruetts. They were especially important to me because they were my RDs. My parents were RDs when I was just a wee lad, and I was destined to want to latch on to whoever served as RDs when I finally made it college. Luke and April (and Thomas and Liam) made that easy. Luke especially was inordinately relatable and countless times served to undercut my prejudice and high-handedness with his easy-going love of everyone and everything he came across. Talk about lessons learned. And he helped me learn to love the Memphis Grizzlies and Disc Golf. Luke, I am forever in your debt.

I remember Justin Daughrity. I swore he was two or three years older than me when I met him, but he was actually my age. How do you determine at first glance who will develop into a lifelong friend, regardless of distance? Don’t assume you know. Though, good indicators: weekly room set up blitzes, borrowed iPads, elementary tutoring and…

I remember Haiti. Wes and his tap-tap. Randy’s army stories. Rachel and Kenley and Charlie and Bryson. Justin and our bathroom construction projects. Seeing the devastation left by the earthquake.

SGA Retreat 2011

I remember trips to Nashville, for Preds games (Thomas Willis was usually involved), for weekends off or for SGA trips. SATCO, Jack’s BBQ, Wildhorse, Kylie getting attacked by a street performer and laser tag solidify Nashville as one of my favorite cities.

I remember all of the time spent in the SGA office. The planning, the jokes, the venting. Homework, hulu, Lex takeout. Scheming, praying and talking.

I remember when Steve Jobs died.

I remember SBXI. I’ve documented the trip previously so I won’t repeat here.

Froomies to Roomies

I remember being so glad I got to share my last two years with Wilson, Jordan and Kirby in Grace 513 and 515. I couldn’t have asked for better roommates, despite passive aggressive closing of doors, pushing each other into mirrors and shrimp left in the utility closet for months. I could write a novel and not begin to cover the importance of these guys to me. If you are still in college, I encourage you to pour into the people you live with, because they are the people who see you at your best and worst, and vice-versa. Don’t miss the opportunity to matter to people, and to have people matter to you. Wil, Jordan and Kirby—here’s to many more years of friendship. And hopefully another feast or two at Red Lobster.

I remember walking in the snow with Nate to Dominos, listening to Harry Potter audiobooks and playing Space Cadet Pinball behind the RA desk.

I remember looking forward to the Scholarship Banquet every year, and the opportunity it presented to listen to and meet real, big name, important leaders. Union is a small, Christian, Liberal Arts University, but as often as it could it provided disproportionately large chances to learn. The “big names” I met and heard symbolize the size of the impact my professors had on me on an everyday basis. Also, having lived in England for 4 years while he was Prime Minister, meeting Tony Blair was a huge highlight!

I remember open parties and ZTA and XO dances. I can’t lie and say they were my absolute favorite activities, but I got to go to them with my favorite people, and that overshadowed my dance abilities or lack thereof.

I rememeber “Soneto de la Noche”. The University Singers performed it during a Spring recital and it had me spellbound. I immediately regretted my absence from every other event they had put on. If nothing else, college was a series of events which made me want to do more of anything related. Something about time management and prioritization.

I remember countless intramural games in basketball, softball and volleyball.

EGR class of 2012

I remember my graduating class of engineers. To be fair, I had a lot of great classmates over the years, but I spent so much time with the 10 I finished with. Rob, Jeff, Aaron, Rachel, Jacob, Eric, Nate, John — you’re some of the smartest people I know and I always felt like I was playing catch up!

I remember all of my professors as well. As someone who loves school, you had inordinate influence over me. Thank you for the lessons taught in all areas of life. Thanks for Chemical Instrumentation, Operations Management, Lewis, Tolkein and the Inklings, Racquetball, Physics, Personal Financial Management and the other 120+ hours I took. I loved almost all of it, and appreciate all of you for instructing me.

I remember having Haaken come to Union. I am so thankful for him, and so glad that we were able to overlap at least one year at college. He is one of the coolest people I know, and if I could change one thing about college it would be to have spent more time directly with him while we were both there.

I remember Destin with so many of my good friends. Especially Tiny Kyle. A perfect picture of college because of the fellowship, the development of relationships, the frustration, the conversations, the lessons learned and the shared experiences. And the fun. It was just plain fun. Thanks to Jordan Wilson and Wil Story for enduring my Beach Volleyball phase.

I remember Anika, Melissa, Molly and Stacey. Ani always shared a laugh, advice and care. Molly was one of the only people who understood my Coldplay obsession. Melissa has always suffered well under my pranking and is a great person to talk to. And Stacey has everyone laughing always. Rice dinner this Sunday? Ok sweet. I’ll host this time.

2012 NBA Playoffs

I remember trips to Memphis and going to Grizzlies games. Keeping old friendships alive meant a lot to me, and still does! Memphis was Rendezvous, CS Lewis society meetings, Les Mis at the Orpheum, emergency Pei Wei runs, corn mazes and a place to escape the Jackson bubble for a while.

I remember four years’ worth of incredible RAs, from Tim Call to the scalawag and snapchat-savvy Jordan Timbs. And Josh Shell and cornhole in the Bowld. I will always regret not being a part of residence life.

I remember Nate, Rachel and Jeff. My closest “school” friends, my constant companions in the EGR lab, the Bowld conference rooms and the robot room. I can’t add anything more to what Rachel already said in her “memory wrap-up” graduation present, but some of my sweetest times were with you three. You’re literally and figuratively the most brilliant people I know. I am proud to be the least successful engineer of the four of us. You will always encourage me to push myself harder. I may even own a buffalo one day. God blessed me greatly when he allowed me to meet you. Always look around you.

I remember Englewood and Refuge. I remember Jared Schuler. He was (and is — he’s not dead) very tall. He was my pastor for three and a half years, the person who most often taught me what the Gospel meant, and how to live in light of it. I still look up to him (double entendre) today. I remember Ben Mandrell and the energy and enthusiasm he showed each and every Sunday. What a blessing to have a pastor who consistently and publicly proclaims the Word of God. I remember how exciting it was to have Travis Cottrell join the staff. But I never could have imagined how much he would invest and care personally, or how funny and talented he really is. These three men were firm sources of guidance during the turbulence of college.

I remember the countless students who voluntarily offered their time and their talents to lead alongside me. Megan, Bradford, Ben, Josh, Brooks, Bethany, Mel, Zach, John, Kristen, Jamie, Hallie, Cody and Rob to name just a few (there are too many to even remember over the 4 years!) The truth that God loves music was reinforced to me over and over as I watched you all sing and play with passion and joy. I believe with all my heart that we faithfully Welcomed Him With Praise — Our Great God and Saviour King.

I remember not knowing how to say goodbye.

I remember choking up when I read the messages from all of my friends in a special Field Notes book they had stolen from me. I can’t stress enough the importance of stressing the importance of relationships. If there is nothing else worth taking away from this whole reminiscence, know this: love people, and let them know you do.

I remember the people of Union University. I really contemplated trying to list everyone I could think of who impacted me and detail all my memories of my time with them but it just is impossible. However, I will always want to talk to them, both about our shared past and their stories since they left.

I remember graduating. It is funny because the actual event of graduation is much like this post. As I get to the end here, I start to remember other things, events, people that I hadn’t thought of in forever—just as at graduation you end up in line next to old classmates and friends you hadn’t seen in months or even years. I can’t cover it all, but it all matters dearly to me because it all was a part of my story.

These are a few of my Ebenezers. I remember being as grateful then as I am now. And I want to simply say: “Thank You”.

Thank you to the people I’ve mentioned, and just as much to the people I failed to mention. Because the truth is, the entire population of Union was and is my family in a way that no other community will ever be.

A Summation

The cover photo of this post is a picture I took the morning after graduation. The empty chairs are a sign that it is proper to move on. However it is never, ever proper to leave entirely. Don’t lose the memories you have because your experiences are what shape you. Annie Dillard said “How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives”, and that is the absolute truth.

A Suggestion

I sat and thought long and hard about these memories, but my recollection was aided by my Field Notes notebooks. I deserve a fair amount of ridicule regarding my borderline obsession with the brand, but the truth is note taking is extremely beneficial, especially in the recording of “Ebenezers”.

An Offer

If you want a trial Field Notes notebook, drop me a message and I will send you one, free of charge. I have quite a stash and nothing excites me more than encouraging others to develop the habit of notetaking. Facebook, tweet, text, email, write or call me and I’ll send one to you! Edit: one person has already asked and her notebook is in the mail already. Go ahead. Test me.

A Prayer

I began with reflections on the tragedies Union has faced recently, I end with an expression of triumphant hope, taken from “The Valley of Vision”. You see, not only do we experience memorials of God’s faithfulness throughout our lives, but our very lives themselves are monuments to His faithfulness.

May I confide in His power and love,
commit my soul to Him without reserve,
bear His image, observe His laws,
pursue His service,
and be through time and eternity
a monument to the efficacy of his grace,
a trophy of His victory.

You can remember.
You can always remember.

--

--

Karl Magnuson
Virtual Field Notes

The Road goes ever on and on...pursuing it with eager feet until it joins some larger way…and whither then? I cannot say.