🗣XR Interview: Rosie Summers

Nerd Pirates
Virtual Library
Published in
4 min readMay 18, 2020

Welcome to the #VirtualLibrary. Here’s our latest ‘XR Interview’ — a collection of the best & brightest in virtual reality, uncovering their stories & documenting their insights into all things immersive.

Rosie Summers is a superstar VR artist & performer, constantly finding fresh and interesting ways to visualise the world in VR. A brave, bold, digital pioneer, Rosie is one to watch in the world of immersive technology.

What was your first ever encounter with immersive technology? What was it like?

You could say I’m a bit of a dinosaur to the medium! The first time I experienced VR was back in 2014, I had access to an Oculus DK 1 where I experienced the Italian fountain demo scene. I had no idea the tech had progressed to such a stage that I could move around in a space realtime, and was blown away! Then a few months later I experienced the Google cardboard, A flimsy piece of cardboard you strap your phone into and transcend into another realm… I didn’t have high expectations, who would with a piece of cardboard and your phone? But I put on the demo experience and placed the cardboard to my face. And then something happened! I was blown away, it literally felt like I was blasted straight into another world, even to the extent that when I was flying in the experience, I lost my balance and felt myself physically say ‘wow’.

That was the first time a piece of moving image had ever made me feel that way, I had such a deep-rooted and intimate connection to this animated world, just through the screen of my phone. That was the point when I knew immersive mediums were something special.

What made you decide to become a VR artist & performer?

Watching the video of Glen Keane paint in Tilt Brush was a pivotal moment for me in realising the creative power of this medium and led me to buy a headset straight away.

I started using VR as a storytelling and creative tool immediately, as an artist, being offered the opportunity to now exist inside your worlds is unimaginable. When I started painting I realised a sudden performative quality to the way I was creating in VR, because of the organic nature of painting in space, creating a piece has the ability to turn into a dance routine.

When you perform live you get such a buzz, but because you are in VR you are consumed in this little creative bubble, unawares of who is watching so you don’t feel that pressure, you just get lost in your art and let your movements define your brush strokes.

What about your work in the XR industry might surprise people?

I reckon the biggest thing that might surprise people is that VR can be used at each stage of the creative pipeline. Many see XR being the final solution, but don’t consider it being valuable in pre production. Being in this industry for a couple years now I’ve realised that this medium can revolutionise all parts of the production process, from early concepts to final solution.

What do you wish you could change about your industry?

One of the biggest things I’d love to see more of would be diversity and equality in our industry. I would also argue that the headsets themselves have not been made with diversity in mind, not suiting all hair types, headwear and even head shapes. I haven’t had a VR headset that has fit me 100% yet!

What’s been your proudest moment as a VR artist?

I think it’s a proud moment for me each time I introduce someone new to VR. It’s the most rewarding thing and it will never get old! But also up there is having the opportunity to work with some notable clients on some amazing projects.

What do you think the future of VR live performance will look like?

It is interesting answering this at this point in time, as COVID-19 has dissolved all events for the foreseeable future. Everyone is seeking virtual solutions, so it seems cliché for me to think this, but I see potential in virtual art performances! If a few artists inhibit a virtual space as avatars, everyone can paint together and form an amalgamation of virtual art in the same space, which would be magnificent and such a spectacle!

What’s the best bit of advice you’ve ever been given as a content creator?

The best advice I have been given is to experiment. Right from the early stages of my career when I was reaching out to industry people, that’s the advice I got time and time again. It’s because of the medium being so in its infancy we have the leverage to be able to play and experiment! Which is a gift.

What’s the worst?

The worst advice has probably been people telling me I won’t get anywhere unless I have 5 years experience under my belt. Everyone’s experience getting into the industry is different! There is no right, wrong or special way.

Any parting words of advice?

Get busy making the future!! This medium is still young enough to be shaping its path. If you are interested in getting into immersive mediums then get experimenting, world-building and reality-making, these new worlds are in our hands.

#VirtualLibrary is powered by the VR marketing agency, Virtual Umbrella. We provide agency services and consultancy to immersive companies. If you’re in need of a marketing campaign, someone to run your email newsletter, or a team to do some deep dive research on your competitors, let us know 👋

We’re also open to sponsored posts and advertising on #VirtualLibrary so if you’re interested in reaching about 200 immersive folks per month with your messaging, contact us via: bertie@virtualumbrella.marketing

--

--

Nerd Pirates
Virtual Library

Twins | Freelance PR/Marketing duo in entertainment & games | Team Virtual Umbrella | WIGJ ambassadors