Light from the other time.

Swathi Sriram
Virtual Parchment
Published in
2 min readSep 10, 2017

Once, I shimmered. A light, a little bit of fairy dust — I was full, a whole of something. I wondered how I was told I shone, how many of them thought I emanated light. I couldn’t feel it. I didn’t see it, so I never approved of it. I don’t know, I probably did exude light.

Too many synonyms for emit, right? LOL.

I walked in and walked out, flew in and out, between doors and entrances. Sometimes too scared, sometimes with a confidence that came from not knowing what was inside / behind. Was it a demon waiting to gnaw my head off or an angel in disguise, waiting to gnaw my head off anyway?

I didn’t rest. My quest was on. My light shone but I wasn’t sure what I wanted. I was bogged down but it didn’t matter. I wanted to keep the light on.

Slowly, I started believing in myself, I could do it, I was old but there was nothing to deter me. I was unsure but nothing was unachievable. I was called names but there was no way I was going to rest without finding out what I was looking for.

And then, just like that, one fine day, without a warning, I fell. I was unprepared but delighted. I was happy but scared. I was worried but excited. I was a bundle of all kinds of emotions.

I didn’t have time to think. It was fast.

And I was nothing more than a meteorite, experiencing earth.

I shone, no longer.

--

--