Background

This blog will center on future uses of virtual reality in the workplace. This topic interests me as virtual reality is still a very newly realized concept and has very far to go before it becomes practical. Currently, it is too expensive and in early development, though it’s potential is limitless. I believe my findings can benefit almost every single person on this Earth once virtual reality progresses a little further. This is because there are many uses for virtual reality, the most notable one in my eyes would be training new employees. What better way for someone to learn is there than for them to be able to do even the most complex task with no risks or consequences.

Virtual reality may also be a new way to open up new and higher end jobs for our country and many others. Currently, virtual reality is used mostly for playing video games or running through simulations. This doesn’t mean, however, that it is limited to doing so. I do wonder if it will ever be taken as something more serious than just a way to play games. I’m also curious as to how virtual reality so quickly became a reality. Why is it that everyone ignored such a powerful new technology?

A skill I have that will aid me in researching this project is that I am tech-savvy and very able to explain something in a way that makes it seem fundamental. Practicing this skill only requires explaining things to people while focusing on being coherent and precise. Virtual reality is a limitless technology, the only limit that can be found is the extent of the designer’s imagination. This means that virtual reality is to be shaped by those who develop it, which could end very successfully or very poorly.

--

--

Noah Blair
Virtual Reality, the future of life as our eyes perceive it

I am currently a Sophomore attending the University at Buffalo. My major is accounting. I enjoy long walks, but preferably not on the beach.