Lean, Agile, Teal… how does sociocracy fit in?

François Knuchel
Open2Flow
Published in
9 min readJun 9, 2018

--

PRESENTATION GIVEN AT ONLINE INTERNATIONAL SOCIOCRACY CONFERENCE ON 1ST MAY 2018

Lean, Agile, Teal… how does sociocracy fit in?

I’d like to explore the relationship between sociocracy and various other methods currently being discussed in the context of the future of organisations and of work. How does Sociocracy fit in with Lean, Teal, Agile, and all the many other recent movements? Where does Sociocracy sit?

I’ve been involved with Sociocracy for almost 10 years now, but I first came across it because I was looking for a solution to a problem in Lean, the Toyota production and management system. I learned Lean manufacturing in the automotive plants in Japan; and later back in the West I was looking for a way to introduce, as part of implementing Lean, the way the Japanese do participatory decision-making. Their way of empowering all staff members just wasn’t working here in the West, because it was culturally anchored, they did it naturally, so they had not developed a specific system as such for it, and I soon realized I needed an explicit approach, which had been developed in the West — that’s how I eventually came across…

--

--

François Knuchel
Open2Flow

Developing Organisational Agility & Thrivability through full engagement; give everyone a voice, listen & embrace multiple perspectives & collective wisdom