“Beyond Bookmarking” Demonstration

Kingsley Uyi Idehen
OpenLink Virtuoso Weblog
2 min readFeb 10, 2016

I’ve published a silent screencast to YouTube that demonstrates the “Beyond Bookmarking” concept. Basically, this screencast showcases how I take notes as opposed to ambiguous single word bookmarks (or hashtags). As per usual, this is achieved using RDF Language based nanotation.

Why is this important?

I am freely creating machine- and human-readable structured data that enriches data, information, and knowledge that resides in my target database (local or cloud-based).

Key to all of this is that I am not restricted (in any way) with regards to where I store my data.

This screencast also demonstrates the Annotation feature of OSDS, the OpenLink Structured Data Sniffer, which showcases RESTful coupling of disparate services; i.e., OSDS is talking to our RDF Editor (an HTTP Service), and during these interactions it collates data created by the editor (just click on the doggy icon to see what I mean) as part of the application interaction process.

Here are some final notes, using nanotation:

{<#this>
a schema:Article ;
schema:url <> ;
schema:name "Beyond Bookmarking Demonstration";
schema:mainEntity [ schema:mainEntityOfPage <http://kidehen.blogspot.com/2015/08/beyond-bookmarking.html#this> ];
schema:mentions <http://osds.openlinksw.com/#product>, [ schema:mainEntityOfPage <http://linkeddata.uriburner.com/c/8CATP6#this> ] .
}

Here’s a screenshot of what I see (via OSDS) when I read this post, i.e., how the statements above are translated for even easier viewing, etc.

Notes above as viewed via OSDS Browser Extension

Links

--

--

Kingsley Uyi Idehen
OpenLink Virtuoso Weblog

CEO, OpenLink Software —High-Performance Data Centric Technology Providers.