#3 Noteworthy books I have read lately

Vishweshwar Vivek
Vishweshwar Vivek

--

Books are a huge part of my life, taking almost 12–15 hours of my week. This year, I plan to finish 35 books. Today, I would like to step back and take my pick from the 25 books I have devoured so far.

Fiction:

The Unbearable Lightness Of Being, by Milan Kundera.

It must be. The book explores the idea of what is significant(must) and worth fighting for in our otherwise insignificant existence. It explores human consciousness and its quirks. The book is dark, philosophical and awkwardly insightful. It was my kind of book.

Non-Fiction:

Dear Ijeawele: A feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestion, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

How do you raise a kid to be a real feminist? The book acts as an excellent guide to understand what is feminism and separates it from pseudo-feminism and supremism. It is quite practical and insightful; it makes you question many customs and practices that we take for granted.

Memoir:

What I Talk About When I Talk About Running, by Haruki Murakami

“Pain is inevitable; suffering is optional.” If you are an endurance runner, this is a must-read. It is mostly random musings, but you will connect to it. It makes you reflect you own running practice and the thoughts that you carry along. The book may encourage you to view your runs something more profound than just an exercise or a habit but more like living itself.

For suggestions on what I should read next, drop me a note at vishweshwar.vivek@gmail.com

To find out what am I reading this week, check out my instagram: @vishweshwarvivek

--

--