Taken at Auroville: Fav fiction of the year

Books I read in 2018

Vishweshwar Vivek
Vishweshwar Vivek
3 min readDec 18, 2018

--

Of all the books I read in 2018, here are my favorites :

Fiction: Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is a heart-wrenching story of the horrors lived by the Igbo tribe during the Nigerian Civil War in the late 1960s.

Non-Fiction: Never Eat Alone by Keith Ferrazzi is probably the only book you need to read on networking and relationship-based leadership. It is both thought and action provoking.

Memoirs: What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami is a profound commentary on the habit of running. Every long-distance runner will find a deep connection with the experiences Murakami shares in this surreal autobiography.

Reflections

In 2018, reading books no longer remained a hobby for me — it has become a part of my identity.

Lego, ergo sum. I read, there I am.

In 2018, not only did I ramp up my reading goals to 35 books in a year, but also I started experimenting with books, genres, and writing styles. In 2017, I had decided to build a community around me who can help me with book selections. As a result, I have picked up books that I, probably, would not have read otherwise.

Reading in 2018 was a fulfilling experience. Here is the complete list of books I dated

  1. Born to Run by Christopher McDougall
  2. Prescription of Life by Medha Deshmukh Bhaskaran
  3. Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  4. Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse
  5. Dubliners by James Joyce
  6. Modernism: The Lure of Heresy — From Baudelaire to Beckett and Beyond by Peter Gay
  7. Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth and Happiness by Richard H Thaler and Cass R Sunstein
  8. Johnathon Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach
  9. Less by Andrew Sean Greer
  10. Never Eat Alone by Keith Ferrazzi
  11. All Quiet On The Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque
  12. The Master Algorithm by Pedro Domingos
  13. Negotiating the Nonnegotiable by Daniel Shapiro
  14. The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
  15. Games People Play: The basic handbook of transactional analysis by Eric Berne MD
  16. Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind by Shunryu Suzuki
  17. Men Without Women by Ernest Hemingway
  18. Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions (by a Square) by Edwin A Abbott
  19. Dear Ijeawele or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions by
    Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  20. Work Rules: Insights from Inside Google That Will Transform How You Live and lead by Lazlo Bock
  21. Animal Farm by George Orwell
  22. Thoughtfully Ruthless by Val Wright
  23. Only The Paranoid Survive by Andrew Grove
  24. His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet
  25. The Richest Man in Babylon by George S. Clason
  26. Sprint by Jake Knapp
  27. Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari
  28. When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing by Daniel Pink
  29. A Monk’s Guide to a Clean House and Mind by Shoukei Matsumoto
  30. Blue Ocean Strategy, Expanded Edition: How to Create Uncontested Market Space and Make the Competition Irrelevant by W. Chan Kim and Renee Mauborgne
  31. 50 Greatest Short Stories by Terry O’Brien
  32. Civilization and Its Discontent by Sigmund Freud
  33. Logicomix: An epic search for truth by Apostolos Doxiadia and Christos H. Papadimitriou
  34. A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics by Daniel Levitin
  35. The Wanderer by Khalil Gibran
  36. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami

--

--