Vision Quest — Episode #5

Dan Ford
Vision Quest Short Tales
22 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

Diving Deeper Into The Depths:

Go with a scuba diver to the South Pacific, where he learns a new way to immerse himself into a coral reef and become one with the marine inhabitants that reside on that reef. Even the listeners who don’t scuba dive will enjoy this one.

This was an interesting narrative written for me to include as an episode here by a man who liked to dive in ocean waters all over the globe. To him, each dive was a Vision Quest because of Creation’s evident glory no matter what you look at or where you go to. The colors and the creative forms are so diverse and so stunning that you can’t really ever take them for granted. I think you might enjoy this first-person narrative of a particular dive he had in the South Pacific

I have been scuba-diving in and over reefs in tropical waters for many years and in many different locales worldwide. Although the experience at each diving site was unique to that specific place, they all had the same sensation of being otherworldly and fabulously beautiful.

Experiencing those visual treats and having the sensation of an almost superpower-like feeling of flying through the aquatic environment never diminishes for me. Swimming in a lake, a river, or a swimming pool is altogether different because you seem to be enclosed by visual restrictions. Because of some form of barrier, as in the enclosure of a swimming pool or perhaps less clear water quality diminishing visual range as in most lakes and rivers. The crystal clear waters at most Pacific or Atlantic ocean’s tropical diving sites is almost as pure as the air we usually walk in. But while the open-air realm requires us to resist gravity, swimming in these aquatic environments allows for a respite from that gravity drag and imparts a sense of freedom.

In this tale, I will tell you about a special dive in the South Pacific Island of Rongelap in the Marshall Islands. These islands are pretty much in the middle of nowhere if you look them up on the map, but in reality, when you are there, they are, of course, the center of your Universe and a very attractive center they most certainly are. The Marshall Islands themselves are not especially dramatic as there are no tall mountains, rivers or waterfalls, but the ocean they are surrounded by is magnificent. The coral reefs are what the term “pristine” was invented to describe. Still, they rarely are seen as most people other than the natives of Rongelap are not there in any great number, and therefore there is no degradation of the aquatic environment. The water itself is quite simply a brilliant liquid aquamarine gemstone. Very fortunate are those people that can experience the reality of entering into those waters. It seems as though you are immersing yourself in a totally different and mystical environment and not one of this world and in a genuine way.

The magic of Creation is in full force in these waters, and it would appear that no restrictions have been placed on the Creators. It indeed seems to go way beyond the general tenets associated with a theory of evolution by natural selection.

It starts with the seawater itself. As incredibly beautiful as that element is, when you begin to acclimate to a submerged reef environment, you begin to expand your views, widen your perspectives and sharpen your perceptions. It becomes evident that you have entered into an entirely different world. It is at this time that you must make a bold decision internally. You can decide that you are a separate entity visiting this aquatic world or that you are a spiritual entity that becomes embedded within this magical realm. It was on this drive that I made the decision to do the latter. I sincerely wanted to be a part of this place and not simply be a visitor.

Once I made that decision, everything changed for me. I became aware of the interaction between my body and the seawater itself. Obviously, that comparison had always existed, but I didn’t really pay much attention. It was just something that happened, but now I was deep-diving into a new perception of the world I was experiencing. I had always been aware of the myriad of color, texture, and style of the coral reef itself and knew that it was composed of living organisms that took on their own specific forms. But that was simply knowledge and what I was observing was undeniably real, understood, and sensed. The corals were actually moving and generating their own shapes and colors before my eyes. Somehow, I made my perceived psychic timeframe speed up, at least as registered by my consciousness. It was like the difference between a still photograph and a motion picture. I first saw the reef as a static scene, and then suddenly, it morphed into a totally alive and vigorously growing entity. Everything connected to the coral was moving and moving with a purpose. The coral procreated along a determined path of creative urging and displayed magnificent shapes and vibrant colors during the process.

In a great display of this fast time, or perhaps no time at all, the coral was creating mini-mansions for the families of fish and crustaceans, mollusks, and heaven knows what other marine animals wanting and needing to establish a residence within this unbelievable coral kingdom. I came upon a magnificent giant clam that was not only huge but also impossibly beautiful.

As I swam over the top of the reef and glided downwards along the deepwater side of this exotic marine city, I began to focus on other aquatic sea life. I attempted not to gasp too much because I was wearing a scuba mask. I had always thought that our Creator did a fantastic job of establishing life on land. Still, it seems that it was possibly going to be an even greater effort when it came to the ocean and, in particular, to this coral reef community. I mentally started to count the various large fish working their way in and out of the coral crevices but soon gave up because they were way too numerous. Then I was soon swimming through clouds of uncountable gemstone-colored fish. They were swarming in and out and over the top of the reef in incredible numbers. When a huge school came towards me, they simply swarmed over and around me without any semblance of panic. And it wasn’t just the brilliant colors of these fish, but also the incredible shapes and configurations of these creatures. I thought to myself that this was Creation at its finest. And without any seeming innovative restrictions being placed on their design by the Creator. It was obviously a case of, “You think of it, and there it is”.

I quickly got the impression that this coral reef had been conjured up by a Supreme Creator and used with a palette board that allows a Creator’s Imagination to design ever more wondrous lifeforms. I was invited to see all of them in their glory being created and then paraded before me. I also knew that this was a particularly egoistic attitude, but the entire environment was so welcoming and suggestive of that end. I was enthralled.

You would think that I would have been overwhelmed by being immersed with thousands of amazing schools of fish cavorting over a superbly beautiful coral reef. I was also able to notice large individual marine animals moving towards me to make an introduction. First, there was a couple of huge groupers, each with different markings coming within inches of my face with their fins moving ever so slowly, so they were actually hovering in place. Then they moved aside to allow me to meet two moray eels slithering out of some coral wall crevices and tentatively moving towards me and then darting back in and then repeating their performance. I had always been a bit wary of these eels, but not on this dive for some reason. A proper introduction seems to work wonders.

While I was moving about after meeting those amiable finny residents, I felt a looming presence approaching. Ever so slowly, I looked back over my shoulder and saw an enormous black form, and my heart quivered with an emerging sense of fear. This form was entirely too large, with no well-defined shape, probably because of my distance. But that creature, whatever it was, suggested danger, so I decided to leave the tranquil place I was at and swam away from the assumed menace. The form followed, and I started to swim faster, occasionally glancing backward, and I saw that this scary thing was still following me, but maintaining the same separation in the distance. Apparently, it was not very certain of me either. I decided that I better exit this environment and swam up the side of the reef wall and came to the surface. I broke through and saw the sun and sky, but I first thought that I might have dodged something dangerous. After all, I was actually now far more vulnerable because I was floating on the surface. I gained my senses and then dove back down into the deep. I felt better.

And then that dark form returned. But now, I decided that even though I was a newcomer into this world, I had felt that I was actually welcome and belonged here. So……! I swam directly towards this unknown creature with an intent to introduce myself and soon met up with it, face to face. It was a beautiful black Manta-Ray and suddenly, both of our perceptions altered. I was no longer afraid of the ray, and the ray was no longer that curious or apprehensive about me. After a good look and perhaps finding me somewhat dull, the Manta Ray decided to turn and swim off and look for something that suited its interests better. I was very relieved and perhaps had learned my lesson not to be afraid of something until I had a good reason to be.

And then!!!!!! I saw an enormous tiger shark approaching me. It was not attacking but was seemingly intent on a close investigation, and I was now faced with the reality of my new convictions. Was I truly welcomed into this aquatic world, or was I just going to end up as an appetizer for a superior predator that dominates this realm? It would certainly be natural if the latter was to be the case. The tiger shark swam directly to me, stopped within 2 feet from my face, and then peered directly into my eyes. I wasn’t sure what to do and just let my instincts, of which I knew I had very few, take over my actions. I reached out with one hand and stroked the top of the shark’s head. It just waved its huge tail fin to maintain its position and then started to roll completely over with its back hovering over the sea bottom. I took this to be a very good sign and then continued to rub this now gentle creature all over its white belly. I swear I could hear the shark purr, but that was more my overactive imagination than reality, but I could see that the huge shark enjoyed the attention.

While I was petting my new friend, I was aware that my ministrations attracted a certain amount of attention on the reef. Myriad schools of colorful fish were beginning to swarm around the tiger shark and me. They were very interested in this new budding relationship. Obviously, new action on the reef and curiosity seemed to lure most living creatures, even here. Large groupers, such as the giant coral and brown-marbled types and many small snappers and Napolean wrasses, were attracted to the scene. I even saw two octopi slither up the side of the reef to take a look. I swear that they were holding hands or actually tentacles while they watched. A gang of shrimp scampered out from behind a large brain coral. They were chattering a lot between each other, perhaps discussing how things were getting out of hand when you let a human being type hang around their neighborhood. I hadn’t yet figured out the language being used in this water world, but somehow, I just knew what was being said or felt by my fellow reefy friends.

A large leatherback turtle glided into view and joined the other visitors looking and perhaps discussing what was happening here somehow. He was always concerned when a tiger shark was in the vicinity as they have been known to crack the shell of a leatherback every so often and then gobble down the turtle inside. However, this tiger shark didn’t look like he was in a mood to do that, so the turtle decided to stick around to see how this crazy human could make the tiger loll about with his mouth half-open.

Apparently, the word quickly got out because suddenly, white tip sharks, zebra sharks, gray reef sharks and nurse sharks started to appear on the scene. They circled us, and although I should have been threatened with their arrival, I wasn’t at all. One by one, they swam by us and sort of tilted their sides a bit as though they would like to be belly scratched as well. I would have been willing but certainly didn’t want the tiger shark to get angry at this point.

Imagine just how wonderful this was to have all of the denizens of the reef that I have previously mentioned challenging me to accept them. And not mention them by name, except that I think I have to mention the surgeonfish and parrotfish because they would be upset that I didn’t acknowledge their arrival. You could tell by the look on their faces. Then came some big nose unicorn fish along with big eye emperor fish. A few fork-tail rabbitfish, peacock groupers, and three more giant coral groupers joined the party.

Good grief, there were too many of these fabulous creatures to count, to identify or to name. The word had obviously gotten out that there was a crazy Who-man rubbing the stomach of a tiger shark, and everyone had to see this happening to believe it.

Larger fish such as the groupers, sharks, and rays decided that this overly friendly activity was very nice to behold. They gave into an impulse to open their mouth wide so the blue cleaner wrasses could dart in and out and rid their teeth and gills of all kinds of edibles that the larger fish didn’t want, but the wrasses loved. There was a virtual orgy of tending to others erupting throughout the reef. I was very happy that I was causing at least a part of this.

However, as we all know, all good things have to come to an end. I began to feel the telltale subtle changes in the air supply in my scuba tank, informing me that my dive would soon come to an end and that I must leave and return to the surface. I didn’t want to but knew I had to, so I slowly stopped rubbing the belly of my new friend. It didn’t take long for the tiger shark to roll upright again and look me directly into my eyes. I became a little bit nervous again, but I held my ground, trusting in the powers of Creation that had just allowed the wondrous things that had just taken place here.

I reached out and rubbed the tiger’s head and it sort of nodded, perhaps offering a thank-you? Then it turned to swim away. In a flash, all of the other participants of this impromptu gathering rushed back into their routines. The party was over.

I, too, needed to rush back to the water’s surface and leave this fantastic world. Our inflatable raft was anchored nearby, and I swam upwards to reach it and soon pulled myself onto it, pulling off my mask just as all of my air had depleted. My dive buddy had already returned and was half dozing as the water lapped against the thin rubber bottom, and the sun was shining brightly overhead.

I started to say something to him but realized that I could never explain what had just happened. He simply smiled at me and said, “Somethings don’t need saying, they just need doing,” and then he fell asleep in this cozy warm raft.

So did I.

“Wasn’t the narrative by this scuba diver fun? That was a real Vision Quest if I ever read one. I think he did an excellent job describing the marine world he was diving in, and I know he made me want to dive it as well.

How about you?”

Dan Ford

============================================================

Buceando más profundo en las profundidades

(Diving Deeper into the Depths)

by Dan Ford

Episodio 5 Un cuento de Vision Quest

UN DOCUMENTO TRADUCIDO A MÁQUINA DE GOOGLE

Esta fue una narración interesante escrita para que yo la incluyera como un episodio aquí por un hombre al que le gustaba bucear en aguas oceánicas de todo el mundo. Para él, cada inmersión era una Búsqueda de la Visión debido a la evidente gloria de la Creación sin importar lo que mires o adónde vayas. Los colores y las formas creativas son tan diversos y tan sorprendentes que nunca puedes darlos por sentado. Creo que podrías disfrutar de esta narración en primera persona de una inmersión en particular que tuvo en el Pacífico Sur.

He estado buceando en y sobre arrecifes en aguas tropicales durante muchos años y en muchos lugares diferentes en todo el mundo. Aunque la experiencia en cada sitio de buceo fue única para ese lugar específico, todos tenían la misma sensación de ser de otro mundo y fabulosamente hermosos.

Experimentar esas delicias visuales y tener la sensación de una sensación casi de superpoder de volar a través del entorno acuático nunca disminuye para mí. Nadar en un lago, un río o una piscina es completamente diferente porque pareces estar encerrado por restricciones visuales. Debido a algún tipo de barrera, como en el recinto de una piscina o quizás porque la calidad del agua es menos clara y disminuye el alcance visual como en la mayoría de los lagos y ríos. Las aguas cristalinas en la mayoría de los sitios de buceo tropicales del océano Pacífico o Atlántico son casi tan puras como el aire en el que normalmente caminamos. Pero mientras que el reino al aire libre requiere que resistamos la gravedad, nadar en estos ambientes acuáticos permite un respiro de esa gravedad. arrastre e imparte una sensación de libertad.

En este cuento, les contaré sobre una inmersión especial en la isla de Rongelap, en el Pacífico Sur, en las Islas Marshall. Estas islas están prácticamente en el medio de la nada si las miras en el mapa, pero en realidad, cuando estás allí, son, por supuesto, el centro de tu Universo y un centro muy atractivo que sin duda son. Las Islas Marshall en sí mismas no son especialmente dramáticas ya que no hay montañas altas, ríos o cascadas, pero el océano que las rodea es magnífico. Los arrecifes de coral son para lo que se inventó el término “prístino”. Aún así, rara vez se los ve, ya que la mayoría de las personas, además de los nativos de Rongelap, no están allí en gran número y, por lo tanto, no hay degradación del medio ambiente acuático. El agua en sí es simplemente una piedra preciosa aguamarina líquida brillante. Muy afortunados son aquellas personas que pueden experimentar la realidad de entrar en esas aguas. Parece como si te estuvieras sumergiendo en un entorno místico y totalmente diferente y no uno de este mundo y de una manera genuina. La magia de la Creación está en plena vigencia en estas aguas, y parece que no se han impuesto restricciones a los Creadores. De hecho, parece ir mucho más allá de los principios generales asociados con una teoría de la evolución por selección natural.

Comienza con el agua de mar en sí. Tan increíblemente hermoso como es ese elemento, cuando comienzas a aclimatarte a un entorno de arrecife sumergido, comienzas a expandir tus puntos de vista, amplías tus perspectivas y agudizas tus percepciones. Se hace evidente que has entrado en un mundo completamente diferente. Es en este momento que debes tomar una decisión audaz internamente. Puedes decidir que eres una entidad separada que visita este mundo acuático o que eres una entidad espiritual que se incrusta en este reino mágico. Fue en este viaje que tomé la decisión de hacer esto último. Sinceramente quería ser parte de este lugar y no ser simplemente un visitante.

Una vez que tomé esa decisión, todo cambió para mí. Me di cuenta de la interacción entre mi cuerpo y el agua de mar en sí. Obviamente, esa comparación siempre había existido, pero realmente no le presté mucha atención. Simplemente fue algo que sucedió, pero ahora estaba sumergiéndome profundamente en una nueva percepción del mundo que estaba experimentando. Siempre había sido consciente de la miríada de colores, texturas y estilos del propio arrecife de coral y sabía que estaba compuesto de organismos vivos que adoptaban formas específicas propias. Pero eso era simplemente conocimiento y lo que estaba observando era innegablemente real, entendido y sentido. Los corales en realidad se movían y generaban sus propias formas y colores ante mis ojos. De alguna manera, hice que mi marco de tiempo psíquico percibido se acelerara, al menos según lo registrado por mi conciencia. Era como la diferencia entre una fotografía fija y una película. Primero vi el arrecife como una escena estática y luego, de repente, se transformó en una entidad totalmente viva y en crecimiento vigoroso. Todo lo relacionado con el coral se movía y se movía con un propósito. El coral procreó a lo largo de un camino determinado de impulso creativo y mostró formas magníficas y colores vibrantes durante el proceso.

En una gran muestra de este tiempo rápido, o tal vez sin tiempo, el coral estaba creando mini-mansiones para las familias de peces y crustáceos, moluscos y Dios sabe qué otros animales marinos que querían y necesitaban establecer una residencia dentro de este increíble reino coralino. Me encontré con una magnífica almeja gigante que no solo era enorme sino también increíblemente hermosa.

Mientras nadaba sobre la parte superior del arrecife y me deslizaba hacia abajo a lo largo del lado de aguas profundas de esta exótica ciudad marina, comencé a concentrarme en otra vida marina acuática. Traté de no jadear demasiado porque estaba usando una máscara de buceo. Siempre había pensado que nuestro Creador hizo un trabajo fantástico al establecer la vida en la tierra. Aún así, parece que posiblemente iba a ser un esfuerzo aún mayor en lo que respecta al océano y, en particular, a esta comunidad de arrecifes de coral. Mentalmente comencé a contar los varios peces grandes que entraban y salían de las grietas del coral, pero pronto me rendí porque eran demasiado numerosos. Luego, pronto estaba nadando a través de nubes de incontables peces de colores de piedras preciosas. Estaban pululando dentro y fuera y sobre la parte superior del arrecife en números increíbles. Cuando una gran escuela vino hacia mí, simplemente se arremolinaron alrededor de mí sin ningún tipo de pánico. Y no fueron solo los colores brillantes de estos peces, sino también las increíbles formas y configuraciones de estas criaturas. Pensé para mis adentros que esto era la Creación en su máxima expresión. Y sin que el Creador imponga restricciones aparentemente innovadoras a su diseño. Obviamente fue un caso de, “Piénsalo, y ahí está”.

Rápidamente tuve la impresión de que este arrecife de coral había sido conjurado por un Creador Supremo y utilizado con una paleta de colores que permite que la Imaginación del Creador diseñe formas de vida cada vez más maravillosas. Fui invitado a verlos a todos en su gloria siendo creados y luego desfilar ante mí. También sabía que esta era una actitud particularmente egoísta, pero todo el ambiente era muy acogedor y sugestivo de ese fin. Estaba cautivado.

Uno pensaría que me habría sentido abrumado al estar inmerso con miles de asombrosos bancos de peces retozando sobre un hermoso arrecife de coral. También pude notar grandes animales marinos individuales moviéndose hacia mí para hacer una presentación. Primero, había un par de meros enormes, cada uno con diferentes marcas que se acercaban a pulgadas de mi cara con sus aletas moviéndose muy lentamente, por lo que en realidad estaban flotando en su lugar. Luego se movieron a un lado para permitirme encontrarme con dos morenas que se deslizaban fuera de algunas grietas de la pared de coral y se movían tentativamente hacia mí y luego regresaban y luego repetían su actuación. Siempre había sido un poco cauteloso con estas anguilas, pero no en esta inmersión por alguna razón. Una introducción adecuada parece hacer maravillas.

Mientras me movía después de conocer a esos amables residentes, sentí que se acercaba una presencia inminente. Muy lentamente, miré hacia atrás por encima de mi hombro y vi una enorme forma negra, y mi corazón se estremeció con una sensación de miedo emergente. Esta forma era demasiado grande, sin una forma bien definida, probablemente debido a mi distancia. Pero esa criatura, fuera lo que fuera, sugería peligro, así que decidí dejar el lugar tranquilo en el que estaba y nadé lejos de la supuesta amenaza. La forma siguió, y comencé a nadar más rápido, ocasionalmente mirando hacia atrás, y vi que esta cosa aterradora todavía me seguía, pero manteniendo la misma separación en la distancia. Al parecer, tampoco estaba muy seguro de mí. Decidí que era mejor salir de este entorno y nadé por el lado de la pared del arrecife y salí a la superficie. Me abrí paso y vi el sol y el cielo, pero primero pensé que podría haber esquivado algo peligroso. Después de todo, en realidad ahora era mucho más vulnerable porque estaba flotando en la superficie. Recuperé mis sentidos y luego me sumergí de nuevo en las profundidades. Me sentí mejor.

Y luego esa forma oscura regresó. Pero ahora, decidí que a pesar de que era un recién llegado a este mundo, había sentido que en realidad era bienvenido y que pertenecía aquí. Asi que……! Nadé directamente hacia esta criatura desconocida con la intención de presentarme y pronto me encontré con ella, cara a cara. Era una hermosa mantarraya negra y, de repente, nuestras dos percepciones se alteraron. Ya no le tenía miedo a la raya, y la raya ya no sentía tanta curiosidad o aprensión por mí. Después de una buena mirada y tal vez encontrándome algo aburrido, la mantarraya decidió girar y alejarse nadando en busca de algo que se adaptara mejor a sus intereses. Me sentí muy aliviado y tal vez había aprendido la lección de no tener miedo de algo hasta que tuviera una buena razón para estarlo.

¡¡¡¡¡¡Y luego!!!!!! Vi un enorme tiburón tigre acercándose a mí. No estaba atacando, pero aparentemente tenía la intención de realizar una investigación minuciosa, y ahora me enfrentaba a la realidad de mis nuevas convicciones. ¿Fui realmente bienvenido a este mundo acuático, o solo iba a terminar como un aperitivo para un depredador superior que domina este reino? Sin duda, sería natural que esto último fuera el caso. El tiburón tigre nadó directamente hacia mí, se detuvo a 2 pies de mi cara y luego me miró directamente a los ojos. No estaba seguro de qué hacer y simplemente dejé que mis instintos, de los cuales sabía que tenía muy pocos, se hicieran cargo de mis acciones. Extendí una mano y acaricié la parte superior de la cabeza del tiburón. Simplemente agitó su enorme aleta caudal para mantener su posición y luego comenzó a rodar completamente con su espalda flotando sobre el fondo del mar. Tomé esto como una muy buena señal y luego continué frotando a esta criatura ahora gentil por todo su vientre blanco. Juro que podía escuchar el ronroneo del tiburón, pero eso era más mi imaginación hiperactiva que la realidad, pero pude ver que el enorme tiburón disfrutaba de la atención.

Mientras acariciaba a mi nuevo amigo, me di cuenta de que mis cuidados atraían cierta atención en el arrecife. Miríadas de bancos de peces de colores comenzaban a pulular alrededor del tiburón tigre y de mí. Estaban muy interesados ​​en esta nueva relación en ciernes. Obviamente, la nueva acción en el arrecife y la curiosidad parecían atraer a la mayoría de las criaturas vivientes, incluso aquí. Los grandes meros, como los corales gigantes y los tipos de mármol marrón y muchos pargos pequeños y lábridos de Napoleón, se sintieron atraídos por la escena. Incluso vi dos pulpos deslizarse por el costado del arrecife para echar un vistazo. Juro que estaban tomados de la mano o en realidad tentáculos mientras miraban. Un grupo de camarones salió corriendo de detrás de un gran coral cerebro. Estaban charlando mucho entre ellos, tal vez discutiendo cómo las cosas se estaban yendo de las manos cuando dejas que un ser humano se pasee por su vecindario. Todavía no había descifrado el idioma que se usaba en este mundo acuático, pero de alguna manera, sabía lo que decían o sentían mis compañeros arrecifes.

Una gran tortuga laúd se deslizó a la vista y se unió a los otros visitantes mirando y tal vez discutiendo lo que estaba pasando aquí de alguna manera. Siempre estaba preocupado cuando un tiburón tigre estaba cerca, ya que se sabe que rompen el caparazón de una tortuga laúd de vez en cuando y luego devoran a la tortuga que está dentro. Sin embargo, este tiburón tigre no parecía estar de humor para hacer eso, por lo que la tortuga decidió quedarse para ver cómo este loco humano podía hacer que el tigre se quedara con la boca entreabierta.

Aparentemente, la noticia se corrió rápidamente porque, de repente, comenzaron a aparecer en escena tiburones punta blanca, tiburones cebra, tiburones grises de arrecife y tiburones nodriza. Nos rodearon y, aunque debería haberme amenazado con su llegada, no lo estaba en absoluto. Uno por uno, nadaron a nuestro lado y ladearon un poco los costados como si les gustaría que les rascaran la barriga también. Habría estado dispuesto pero ciertamente no quería que el tiburón tigre se enojara en este punto.

Imagínese lo maravilloso que fue tener a todos los habitantes del arrecife que he mencionado anteriormente desafiándome a aceptarlos. Y no los menciono por su nombre, excepto que creo que tengo que mencionar al pez cirujano y al pez loro porque se molestarían si no les reconociera su llegada. Se notaba por la expresión de sus rostros. Luego vino un pez unicornio de nariz grande junto con un pez emperador de ojos grandes. Algunos peces conejo de cola de horquilla, meros pavo real y tres meros de coral gigantes más se unieron a la fiesta.

Dios mío, había demasiadas de estas fabulosas criaturas para contarlas, identificarlas o nombrarlas. Obviamente, se había corrido la voz de que había un hombre quién loco frotando el estómago de un tiburón tigre, y todos tenían que ver que esto sucedía para creerlo.

Los peces más grandes, como los meros, los tiburones y las rayas, decidieron que esta actividad demasiado amistosa era muy agradable de contemplar. Tuvieron el impulso de abrir mucho la boca para que los lábridos azules pudieran entrar y salir y quitarse de los dientes y branquias todo tipo de comestibles que los peces más grandes no querían, pero que adoraban los lábridos. Hubo una orgía virtual de atender a otros en erupción en todo el arrecife. Estaba muy feliz de estar causando al menos una parte de esto.

Sin embargo, como todos sabemos, todo lo bueno tiene que llegar a su fin. Empecé a sentir los reveladores cambios sutiles en el suministro de aire en mi tanque de buceo, informándome que mi inmersión pronto terminaría y que debía salir y regresar a la superficie. No quería pero sabía que tenía que hacerlo, así que lentamente dejé de frotar el vientre de mi nuevo amigo. No pasó mucho tiempo para que el tiburón tigre volviera a ponerse de pie y me mirara directamente a los ojos. Volví a ponerme un poco nervioso, pero me mantuve firme, confiando en los poderes de la Creación que acababan de permitir las cosas maravillosas que acababan de ocurrir aquí.

Extendí la mano y froté la cabeza del tigre y asintió con la cabeza, ¿quizás dando las gracias? Luego se volvió para alejarse nadando. En un instante, todos los demás participantes de esta reunión improvisada volvieron a sus rutinas. La fiesta había terminado.

Yo también necesitaba correr de regreso a la superficie del agua y dejar este mundo fantástico. Nuestra balsa inflable estaba anclada cerca, y nadé hacia arriba para alcanzarla y pronto me subí a ella, quitándome la máscara justo cuando todo mi aire se había agotado. Mi compañero de buceo ya había regresado y estaba medio dormido mientras el agua lamía el delgado fondo de goma y el sol brillaba intensamente sobre su cabeza.

Empecé a decirle algo pero me di cuenta de que nunca podría explicar lo que acababa de pasar. Simplemente me sonrió y dijo: “Algo que no es necesario decir, solo es necesario hacerlo”, y luego se durmió en esta balsa cálida y acogedora.

Yo tambien.

“¿No fue divertida la narración de este buceador? Esa fue una verdadera búsqueda de visión si alguna vez leí una. Creo que hizo un excelente trabajo describiendo ese mundo marino en el que estaba buceando, y sé que hizo que quisiera bucear en él”. así como.

¿Y tú?”

===============================================================

For those who prefer to listen rather than read this story, please click on the red arrow between to hear an AI narration of Diving Deeper Into The Depths.

--

--