Alphonso Settles: Actor On The Rise

Tammyreesemedia
VisionaryMindsMedia
3 min readApr 11, 2021
Actor & Model Alphonos Settles

Alphonso Settles is an established actor from Detroit, Michigan. He began his career as a model in the Metro Detroit area participating in local shows and events. Alphonso was discovered at one of his shows and offered an opportunity to showcase his acting skills.

His first film was Ovid and the Art of Love starring John Savage (Godfather III) and Corbin Bleu (High School Musical). Alphonso also appeared in First Lady starring Jim Jones (Paper Soldiers) and Nicole “Hoopz” Alexander (Ghetto Stories).

He appeared in his first television sitcom, My Step Kidz, alongside Clifton Powell (Next Friday) and Rodney Perry (Johnson Family Vacation) in spring 2019 on My TV 20. Alphonso has starred in a host of films between his first and most recent projects.

He has earned himself roles in the drama Deceitful Passions and TV drama In Rising Star. Alphonso has proven himself as a force to be followed in modeling and now in acting. He is definitely the one to watch!

Actor & Model Alphonso Settles

Tammy Reese: What do you enjoy most about being an actor?

Alphonso Settles: The thing I enjoy most about being an actor is having an opportunity to become another person and make it believable and I love what it does, it's work, but it’s still fun.

Tammy Reese: What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Alphonso Settles: Some of the most memorable moments I have had are the film premieres. I love seeing and hearing the crowd reactions to all the long nights and early morning that it takes to make a film. I love interacting with the public, taking picture’s and just being among everyone that took time to come out and see us.

Tammy Reese: What impact do you intend to make throughout your career?

Alphonso Settles: The impact I intend to make throughout my career is showing people that they can be anything they choose to be if they are willing to put in the work and make the sacrifices it will take to get where they want to go.

Tammy Reese: What are you currently working on?

Alphonso Settles: I am currently shooting a tv show called Toxsanity produced by Bigg Von. I also am slated to shoot The Bag Girls 2 this summer in June, I’m excited about doing the sequel because the first Bag Girls we shot is doing really well.

Tammy Reese: What actors have inspired you?

Alphonso Settles: The actors that have inspired me is Will Smith, initially he wasn’t even an actor, he was into music. I’m also inspired by Jamie Fox, this man changed his name for the love of his craft just to get in the door. Denzel Washington also because he is the GOAT!

Tammy Reese: What have you learned about yourself from being in the film industry?

Alphonso Settles: The thing that I’ve learned about myself in being in this industry is that no matter what happens, I will always remain professional and have integrity about myself. I have also learned certain roles I don’t have to take if for some reason there is something I don’t like or something I’m not comfortable with.

Tammy Reese: What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Alphonso Settles: You can be on the lookout for more films and projects that you may not normally see me part of to show my range as an actor.

Tammy Reese: What advice would you leave our aspiring actors?

Alphonso Settles: The advice I would give to other aspiring actors would be to grind and work hard and remain consistent in what you want to do. Be prepared for a lot of rejection because it’s just part of this business.

If you think you will be a celebrity overnight please know and understand that is not the way it goes. Also know you will need professional headshots starting off just to be seen if you are a newcomer to this industry.

Keep up-to-date with Alphonso Settles by connecting on social media:

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/alphonso.settles

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mr.amazn1/

Photo Credit: Abby Olidipo of Abby O Photography

--

--

Tammyreesemedia
VisionaryMindsMedia

Tammy Reese is an award winning actress and writer. She currently serves on the Communications Committee for New York Women In Film and Television.