Project 2: Concept Development

Tiamera Ellen
Visual Communication Design II
3 min readMar 22, 2019

I was really excited to start developing my ideas for this project, I had a couple of directions in mind before I started sketching.

Before I even began to sketch, I decided to make some lists for each country and highlight important parts of each. I needed to brainstorm something that could give me a name for the condom. I am a big fan of puns so I tried to look for them whenever possible. For the animal condoms I designed, I tried to look for innuendos or use words the animal was associated with.

Here is some of my thinking:

logo sketches

After brainstorming, I began to sketch, I realized that some of the ideas I had thought of before were just variants of the same ideas, so I decided to only draw what was drastically different. I came up with three sets of condom wrappers and one set of Kombucha labels. My biggest struggle when doing my sketches was actually trying to draw some of the things I had in mind. I tried my best. I mean look at my beaver…

Anyway, choosing two directions to go into was hard because I favored all three, but with the help of the class I was able to narrow it down. I focused on my first idea and my last idea (of the condom sets). After that, I decided to take my wrappers onto the computer because it is easier for me to translate my concepts (rather than me redraw crappy animals and color them).

This is what I came up with on the computer:

I have to make some adjustments with the colors and type, so I am going to print the designs to make up those decisions.

I also started to sketch some designs for my box shapes.

And here are some dielines and examples I found:

I am excited to see what I can do with the outer packaging. Until next time…

--

--