Acruxgod answers our questions in this interview.

Max Payton
VISUAL HEAVEN
3 min readJul 15, 2022

--

Alright, so thank you so much for sharing your story and insight with our readers. To kick things off, can you tell us a bit about how you got started?
I started as a graphic designer a few months ago when people from a collective I was in at the time found out I did some work for a couple of my musician friends some while ago, one of the people in there said that I should get paid for it so I followed the advice and turned my personal profile into my art portfolio under the name of acruxgod, I started posting some experimental designs and cover artwork concepts and people started reaching out to me, I was charging around $5/$10 at the time and gradually increased my prices when I felt like my art was improving, withing a few months I got over $350/400 per commission and the amount of monthly commissions stayed pretty much the same.

Can you talk to us a bit about the challenges and lessons you’ve learned along the way. Looking back would you say it’s been easy or smooth in retrospect?
I have to admit it wasn’t really easy, I put quite a little bit of effort to get my name out there but it was totally worth it, never had any struggle because I confronted everything in a positive way and overcame them.

Alright, so let’s switch gears a bit and talk business. What should we know about your work?
I mostly do cover artworks, I love catching the vibe of the song and creating a visual version of it, the thing that sets me apart from others is definitely my art style, I use balanced high contrast colors and add a saturated red tone to it, afterward I add my two custom made paper and ink overlay which give a really eye-pleasing result, the thing I’m the proudest of is my collaboration with @liluglybabyx.x.x and the fact I have a few regular clients that reach out to me a few times a month.

Are there any apps, books, podcasts, blogs or other resources you think our readers should check out?
I love Instagram, it gave me all the resources I needed to start my own business, I am really grateful and this platform was definitely life-changing during the last few months.

--

--