2016 Total Solar Eclipse

Apart from Palembang, Bangka-Belitung, Palangkaraya, Palu, Ternate, and Halmahera, Balikpapan is a city located near the equator that was “visited” by the eclipse. I was fortunate to be able to visit this city in 2016 to see the sun intimately embrace the moon.

Firman Firdaus
Visual Herald

--

This is my second time “visiting” this oil city. Yes, I put that in quotes because during my first visit a few years ago, I merely passed through on my way to Kutai Kertanegara. It was also at night. So, I didn’t get much of an impression except that the overland journey from Balikpapan to Kutai is one of the most winding and undulating trips I’ve ever experienced. And, of course, that this city is extremely hot.

During this second visit, my agenda in Balikpapan was also brief; observing the total solar eclipse while soaking in the lively atmosphere of Balikpapan’s residents, then quickly flying to Berau to enjoy the marine tourism there.

--

--

Firman Firdaus
Visual Herald

Writer, photographer, editor, UI/UX and editorial designer. Former NatGeo-Indonesia editor. Currently managing products at Katadata.