Because I need it; Designing a bot for Shake Shack.

Diego Zaks
Visual Lab
Published in
3 min readMay 23, 2016

Lunch time comes, usually we all split up into groups headed to a specific restaurant, we pick up lunch and come back to the studio to eat together. We have a Shake Shack near our flatiron studio, it’s a 3 minute walk but it might as well be in another country. At least once a week, the conversation goes a little something like this:

“Me: So, anyone want to go to Shake Shack? -
Studio mate: Ugh! It’s so good, but, the line’s too long. I don’t want to stand there for an hour.
Me: oh right… I guess we can go somewhere else.*”

*sadness in my belly.

Thanks Giphy.

I love Shake Shack, I wish I could eat more of it!

The company already has that vibrating beacon thing for order pickup, so why don’t they use similar tech for the ordering process? Why must everyone wait hours in line to grab lunch?

I’m not a huge fan of chat bots, but after this announcement by Google (Android Instant Apps) chat bots start making a lot more sense. Being able to quickly fire up a conversation and get stuff done, without installing apps.

I decided to channel all my belly-sadness into design, and made this:

Introducing the Shack Bot.

The easiest and most efficient way to get Shake Shack*

It goes like this. Open up Shack Bot from my desk, fire up a conversation and place my order, select location and pay in under a minute.

Get to the food quickly

Using guided chat responses the Shack Bot can take your order. Type to filter and browse the menu to find the items you want. Add them to your order with one tap.

Type to filter the menu, select a Shack, review & pay. Boom!

Shack Bot uses your device’s location and places your order in the closest Shake Shack restaurant. Pay for your order using Android Pay and you are ready to go! No more belly sadness.

Quick location selection

A smart use of notifications keeps you up to date with your order. Shack Bot knows where you are (and how long it’ll take you to reach the Shack). It will alert you when it’s time to leave, so you can walk to meet your beloved burger as soon as it’s ready.

Smart use of notifications to remind you of key moments.

Your phone will buzz when your order is at the counter. Show your confirmation number and pick up your food.

Burger in my Belly = Happy Belly. That’s it. Simple.

Repeat orders are even easier. The next time I talk to Shack Bot, it will remember what I usually order (single tap ordering anyone?!) or I can get something new. All of this, without installing a new app or setting up new services of any kind.

Wouldn’t it be nice?

Thanks for reading!
If you like Shake Shack and want this to exist, do speak up. I already designed the whole thing so…

Shake Shack, the ball is in your court now.

* I’m not associated with Shake Shack in any way, this is a personal design project based on my personal opinions (and my love of the Shack Burger). I will leave it to Shake Shack and the internet to support or reject this idea.

--

--

Diego Zaks
Visual Lab

New York City based Branding Consultant, Freelance Designer & Digital Artist.