How Vitable Health is Unique in a World of “Comprehensive” Health Insurance

A Message From One of Our Members:

Conor Lang
Vitable Health
2 min readApr 6, 2020

--

Three weeks ago, I rolled my right ankle pretty badly while walking to my car. I've rolled my ankle before and the worst that ever happened was just a minor sprain that would take a few weeks to fully heal. The only thing was, this didn't feel like a minor sprain. I really believed I'd fractured my ankle because of the excruciating pain.

So the next morning, my dad was kind enough to drop me at one of the local ERs where I hopped my way to the receptionist. Long story short, I was there for about 1 hour. I was seen by a nurse and doctor for a cumulative 15 minutes, got an x-ray that didn't show any fractures and was sent home with a wrapped ankle. Two days ago, I get a bill that says I owe $1,200 in out of pocket costs for that visit and my insurance paid $3,000. The most frustrating bit of this all was that the X-Ray will only cost me $24. If I'd known how much it would cost, I wouldn't have gone in.

Exact Bill for Services Rendered. Name, facility, and services are left out for privacy purposes.

Many families don't have health insurance and would have had to pay more than double what I have to. After this experience, I heard about Vitable Health from a friend and looked into their services. I was shocked at how much they cover and for a very affordable price. Vitable has been and will continue to be, a great extension of my own health insurance so that I won’t be hit with a $1,200 bill for an X-Ray again.

Our Commitment to Our Members

After hearing many of these stories, our team got to work on seeing whether we could offer x-ray services to all Vitable members at an affordable price. We didn't think it would be possible, and it sure wasn't easy, but now you can get your x-rays in your home while sitting on your couch for just a $125 copay. We know this is impactful, especially as more and more people are out of work and uninsured.

Vitable Health’s team is always working to innovate and improve our service so that we can get people the healthcare that they need at a price that they deserve.

See more of our services here:

https://vitablehealth.com/services

--

--

Conor Lang
Vitable Health

Conor graduated from the University of Colorado Denver with a Bachelor of Science degree in Public Health. Passionate about healthcare systems.