3 Things You Need to Know Before Enrolling in Medical School

The reasons why I eventually dropped out and you could too.

Ametaf
Vital World Online
5 min readFeb 25, 2021

--

Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

I had a realistic dream when kids my age were still watching Tom & Jerry. I was good at writing essay on “My aim in life” and “My ideal person”. I was watching the news and completing science books way above my level. I studied and prepared a clever plan for my future as a Doctor. It was around year 2016. I graduated from high school with a perfect gpa of 4.00 on a scale of 4.00. (You can imagine my school life by this.)

Me, a fresh high school graduate, landed a huge scholarship in one of the renowned universities for premedical studies. Everything was going according to plan. It was not long; eventually, the reality hit me harder than Tsunami. I wish I knew a few real life variables before making unfeasible goals based on ideal situations. Not every single one of us are lucky with optimum conditions in life. Here are 3 things I wish I knew before enrolling into a medical school.

I. Loans Are the New Besties

I read tons of articles on finance management and loan procedures to plan out the financial aspects of my degree. In my list, I had scholarships from government, organizations, sponsorships, also bank loans and many more. But the pressure of the finances are not as easy as the articles and sales people explain. Unless you have rich daddy and sugar daddy, soon the bill papers and miscellaneous medical school expenses will pile up to mountains.

I have friends who after 5 years of graduation from medical school, are still unsure of their pathways in career and of course paying back loans.

Scholarships only cover as little as a portion of the tuition fee but there are so many “hidden costs”. In the end, loans will conquer your entire young age and you will wait for retirement for some savings and stability. If you are an international student, your chances and options are more limited for loans and scholarships. Your pulse will soon rhythm with the rhythm of currency value in the market.

Notes: The average cost in US for medical schools is around $200,000 to $500,000 or more depending on public or private schools for just the basic degree. “Hidden costs” consists of costs of application fees, cost of exam fees, costs of trainings and certificates, etc.

II. Study Ever After

Medical school requires a lot of studying. It is a known fact. But the load of the studies are unbelievable and only medical students know the real taste of it. Hours of lectures, thousands of pages of reviewing, unlimited notes and assignments assigned and countless exams in intervals of hours if not in some cases, minutes. In a word, the medical life is all about careful planning and execution. I learned it in a hard way that scheduling makes life way easier. I used to effortlessly lose track of my homework and assignments.

I can guarantee, in medical school, there is no second chance if you fail to tick that one box in your to-do-list or your google calendar.

The tests will not always give the best results and soon doubts will set in. One rule- “Memorize, memories, Memorize!”. Depression, anxiety, panic attacks are surprisingly more common among medical students than people like to accept. Of course, seeking for help is still a taboo. You will study and it will never be enough. You will be self-sufficient but you will still struggle with the social relationships as you will simply, “not have enough time”. Your fairy tale will in fact end with, “Study Ever After”.

Notes: Medical science is a life investment and is a well paid job. But it is definitely not the faster way to settle in life and have stability. Medical school is all about perseverance and commitment.

III. Be Part of the “Spider Web”

Like any other industry, profession and métier, networking is an important tool and skill in the world of physicians. With the enervating amount of study and endless efforts to deter mistakes, soon you will realize that, socialization is slightly beyond the line of concern for the years in medical school. If you think that “Doctor”, “Physician” and “Surgeon” are very renowned professions and networking is not required, then you are hugely mistaken.

Being part of the web will not only ensure survival but will provide you with the security you will need in this long term commitment.

“Reputation” and “Recommendation” are two very important words starting from the internship till being a great name in the household. Networking is important to keep both the reputation and recommendation in your favor. Similar to a lot of students, I concentrated on studies and kept networking outside the window, which in the end, opened my eyes to the situation where my socializing friend made better impression among the faculty than me. With the networking skill, my friend enrolled in a great medical school for postgraduate degree. I did not like to accept a lot of the facts and soon things started to appear as, “not fair”.

Notes: According to the Future of Healthcare Survey of more than 3,400 physicians, 70% physicians are unwilling to recommend their chosen profession to their children or other family members.

There were millions of other reasons why I felt the necessity to give up on my dreams on being a doctor. However, there was only one reason for me to keep on going with my studies; I wanted to be educated and part of the helping hand.

I simply refused to surrender myself to my misfortunes.

Like every grown up, I reinvested whatever was left of me. I gathered my pieces from depression, insanity, and disbelieve. So, whenever I see someone struggling, I make sure to ask them, “Is this hardship worth it?” I make sure to tell what some people die to hear.

It’s okay to restart, it’s okay to reinvest, and it’s okay to take a step back. Just make sure to not give up. You are worth the fight.

--

--

Ametaf
Vital World Online

A writer fusing lessons of life. Follow me on Instagram @ametafwrites!