I Worked In Aviation — Lessons I Learnt and Now Apply As An Entrepreneur

In business, as in aviation, teamwork is king

Rejoice Denhere
Vital World Online
Published in
3 min readAug 18, 2022

--

Image by Christina on Unsplash

My first job after college was in aviation. I remember my first day like it was yesterday. I had to memorise the phonetic alphabet in a day, otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to communicate with anyone.

The role was challenging but fun at the same time. It made me appreciate the value of good communication, teamwork and customer care. The lessons I learnt I now apply in my role as an entrepreneur.

Communication

Working in aviation taught me that communication is key. In my role I had to communicate with pilots and with air traffic controllers. Sometimes I was communicating with several teams at once. Your ability to communicate is tested frequently at every level of aviation. You have to be good at talking on the mic and you can’t let it stress you out too much when you make a mistake or two. That last part is especially important: because the job requires so much precision, you have to be prepared for mistakes-and unafraid of making them yourself!

Teamwork

In business, as in aviation, teamwork is king. You must work with your employees to achieve your goals. In aviation, I relied on my coworkers to do…

--

--

Rejoice Denhere
Vital World Online

Author and business owner. Putting teams and individuals on the path to success. Top Writer on Medium. https://rejoicedenhere.medium.com/membership