My Budding Relationship With the Non-human

I think it’s going really well

Rejoice Denhere
Vital World Online
Published in
4 min readApr 30, 2021

--

Image by Pixel2013 on Pixabay

When I meet new people the conversation always seems to gravitate towards the topic of relationships. It generally goes something like this.

“So, are you dating anyone?” they’ll ask.

Most times I am tempted to respond by saying, “It’s none of your business,” but then I’m a polite person, so I keep my thoughts to myself, then politely reply, “No.”

If I don’t intentionally end the conversation at that poitn, or direct it to another topic, it usually continues along the lines of, “But why not? You’re a very attractive woman.”

I don’t think these people realise what they imply by such comments. Are they saying that only unattractive women are unattached? How and when did this qualifier become so widely accepted?

I find those kinds of statements quite offensive, to be honest. You would probably share my sentiments if you were at the receiving end of such comments, but I digress.

Fortunately this article has nothing to do with my romantic liaisons with other humans. It is all about my budding relationships with the non-human.

It is often said that the person you speak with the most is the one you have a relationship with. Based on my interactions in…

--

--

Rejoice Denhere
Vital World Online

Author and business owner. Putting teams and individuals on the path to success. Top Writer on Medium. https://rejoicedenhere.medium.com/membership