How it all began?

Vivid Cipher
vividciphers
Published in
4 min readFeb 21, 2018

It is a great question, the thing is we aren’t 100% sure ourselves.

Let us introduce ourselves - we are Vivid Ciphers, hilarious name, we know. As to who Vivid Ciphers actually are, well, we are a team of people who are interested in Computer Science and everything related.

You can call me Rty, a short version of my nickname. I’ve decided to give a bit of a story about the amazing team I’m in and about all the things we do. We study and work in Web Development, Software Engineering, App Development and even Game Development! That is a lot, I know, but there’s plenty of people who are involved, so we are balancing it all just fine. Teamwork does save you a lot of a hassle.

You know, before Vivid Ciphers appeared, I was a freelance Web Developer and as all I did have a bit of imposter syndrome, I was thinking that my accomplishments meant nothing and that there was no progress at all, maybe it wasn’t mine to begin with, maybe I needed to do something different, to try something different, to find that bit which has gone missing. I needed to find the real me, the person who started it all long ago, someone who has been passionate about learning CS and building something amazing, something that would of change lives or make living a bit easier.

But then again, sometimes it all didn’t work and I was alone. Friends were telling me that everything was a waste of time and that I’d never be able to do something I dream to do.

In fact, I wasn’t alone.

There are plenty of people, who actually think exactly the same as me, who are being told exactly the same — not smart enough, not good enough, you can’t do IT. And hey guys, you can! I’ll simply quote brilliant thing said:

If you can dream it, you can do it

In Computer Science your passion for it and efforts to achieve your goals is what will make you pull through every single step of the way, there will be times when you’ll be stuck or won’t understand a specific thing. And to be honest, that is absolutely fine, there will be other people with the same questions as you have, there will be somebody to support and help. Teamwork saves a lot.

In my case, that probably would be all the developers in the VC. We found each other on the Web, mostly on FreeCodeCamp even. Some of us were experienced in Software Dev, Web Dev- Frontend or Backend, or Both. Some weren’t and they were looking for the ways to learn, for ways to achieve the dreams they had.

Main thing everyone of us follow and followed is to never give up.

It is as simple as that, not giving up is something that’ll lead you to great things. The best is always in a reach, but it can be out of our comfort zone. Yes, learning something new can be scary plus on top of that -simple psychology, when learning a new skill we will think that we can’t possibly advance it and it’s much easier to walk away and try something else. But then again, a lot of good things come to those who wait along with them being outside of our comfort zones, because that’d be something we aren’t used to. It is something new… and sometimes it does scare you.

Sorry for all the chit chat lol, but thanks to all the guys in VC I’m actually moving, I’m learning something, I’m doing projects, I’m involved. I can support people with same interest or thinking as myself, I can give them what I didn’t have years ago — support and understanding. I can help.

And each one of us knows that, we all stand for each other and I believe we all can achieve great things if we put our mind into it.

How it all began? From starting a group of developers to learn and practice CS together, do projects and ending up being friends generally. Helping others on their ways to become awesome developers we managed to bring Vivid Ciphers to life.

That would be the best answer I could possibly give and to be honest I’m proud to be with these guys.

We all want to be understood and accepted after all, and thats what I got with these guys.

Cheers, Rty.

--

--