The Old Writer’s Tool that Can Help You Win Clients on LinkedIn

Jess Shanahan
Vixe Collective
Published in
3 min readOct 6, 2020

--

Photo by Adam Solomon on Unsplash

I’ve written before on how I find high-paying clients, but let’s talk specifics and how to use LinkedIn to build valuable business relationships.

I’ve found a lot of clients through LinkedIn and most of them come to me. I’m not endlessly pitching — though, that is part of the process. The biggest thing you can do is show your value through the content that you create.

That’s right, you need to show not tell.

I’ve got a lot of part-written novels under my belt (thanks, NaNoWriMo) and one thing I always struggled with was showing what was happening in the book rather than simply stating what was going on. I think I’m just about past it now but learning to show how a character feels was a valuable lesson in the content creation for my business too.

It’s no good telling your audience on LinkedIn that you’re a great artist/writer/designer/engineer. You need to show them and that means posting content that’s less direct.

Instead of saying: “I’m a classically trained artist turned graphic designer.”…

You should post an image of your fine artwork alongside a digital version. Or maybe an artistic sketch of some brand assets…

--

--

Jess Shanahan
Vixe Collective

Writing things to help you succeed. A Jess-of-all-trades. Usually found around race cars. Sign up to my Substack here: https://jessofalltrades.substack.com