Meet the Writer of VM Comics: Chrisceliumology talks comicbooks, Metaverse, and the Avalanche Network

AntCat
VMNFT
Published in
8 min readApr 24, 2022

AntCat: Hi everybody. The 2nd Issue of VM Comics is about to drop for all VM NFT holders. I recently had the honor to get to know the brains behind VM Comics.

VM Comics brilliantly illustrates the growth of Web 3.0 and the Vending Machines NFT metaverse as a part of the Avalanche Network. VM Comics are airdropped for free to all who minted a Vending Machines NFT.

Today, I welcome Chrisceliumology, the writer and letterer of VM Comics.

Chrisceliumology: That was your article I read, the most recent one on medium about VMN, the comics, and the metaverse?

AntCat: Yes.

Chrisceliumology: Your writing is top notch man! Also, you actually read my book which is not something I get to say often. Your description of what you took from the story, allegories for the human condition and all that bro, that stuff was literally just ideological lines stuff that I put in everything I do but not a lot of folks seem to really get it, you know? Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed the writing, and the kind words.

AntCat: Where in the world are you from?

Chrisceliumology: I’m from Texas.

AC: I really dig the style and tone of VM Comics. When did you start making comic books?

Chris: With no formal art training, I taught myself how to letter comics in early 2009, and by 2010 I was running what would become a full-fledged comicbook production studio, which is the backbone for our NFT comicbook production studio that makes VM Comics as well as a couple other blockchain comics for NFT collections.

AC: What is your role on VM Comics? Do you work on a team?

Chris: I write and letter everything we produce. Then I have a penciler/inker named Juan Hernandez and a colorist named Tomiwa Olu, from Mexico and Africa respectively. Two of my go-to guys when I need something done reliably and with style.

AC: How did you get involved with VM NFT?

Chris: Aza started it all about a month and a half ago by taking a chance on us and allowing us to own a piece of our work on the Avalanche blockchain, and we’ve just kinda been on a roll since.

AC: Can you share your creative process or what apps you use to write?

Chris: Sure. I’m a writer/letterer, so I’m the first person and also the last to touch the books. Once the script is written, I send it to the penciler, who lays the foundation for what the page will look like. Then it is sent to be inked, which adds tone and depth to the flat penciled page. Then colors bring the mood, and I add the letters (dialogue balloons and sound effects as well as captions, titles, and anything else to do with words). Then you have a full comic page.

AC: The devs eating pizza in the last scene of Issue #1 felt like that could happen in real life. In a big way, developers are paving the way forward by building the blockchain. How do you think artists and developers can best work together on the Avalanche network?

Chris: Yeah that scene is likely what a ton of workrooms look like, at least that’s how I think of that type of magic happening. I’m a turtle at heart, so pizza is a must when working late. But tbh I think this is how we do it, together. I’ve been around the block a few times and I haven’t seen art and technology being integrated like this. I think if we continue working with each other, making all kinds of artistic endeavors that can’t be done properly without blockchain tech, we will make it.

AC: When did you start reading comics and what was your favorite?

Chris: I wrote a children’s book called Don’t Be Afraid a few years back detailing my childhood illness (asthma) and how it almost killed me when I was a kid. Well, I didn’t die and my mom brought me comics for the first time. The ones I remember from that brown paper sack were Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, a Batman and Swamp Thing crossover that was just so dark and awesome, and some X-Men comics. Those are all still my favorites, and today I can say I’m friends with some of the world’s greatest comicbook creators.

AC: What would you say is your biggest comicbook inspiration?

Chris: Fabian Nicieza (Deadpool co-creator) told me once that creating DP is really cool sometimes but mostly it’s like getting your balls clamped in a vice. This gave me the inspiration I needed to do it on my own with my own company and characters, and not try out for corps like Marvel/DC, although those companies are ultimately where our hearts are in terms of the characters and stories that shaped us growing up.

AC: In the first issue, we see a friendly old man getting bullied on the bus. Have you ever seen someone get bullied like this before?

Chris: I’ve been through a lot so I tend to write about a lot of different things, and can pull from personal experiences. When I was homeless, I saw a lot. I’ve seen someone get bullied for being old and dirty… Toothless and shit… It’s messed up. So I do what I can to make myself feel better, which is write it down and forget about it. But these situations must be mulling around my psyche because a decade later I’m still able to pull from memories I thought I’d successfully repressed. Anyway. Write what you know, right?

AC: In Joseph Campbell’s book, “The Hero With A Thousand Faces”, the concept of the Hero’s Journey details the journey of the protagonist through the narrative. After the protagonist accepts his quest, he comes upon a character called The Helper. The Helper is someone who assists the hero in his quest. In Zelda, the Helper says “It’s too dangerous to go alone! Take this!” And he hands Link a sword. In Star Wars, Obi-Wan becomes the Helper of Luke in what as seen as a classic example of the hero’s journey.

I feel like the wise old man’s experience of getting bullied can be interpreted allegorically. I could see it as this old man who is completely unphased by getting tripped in some kind of peaceful Jesus mindset like “Forgive them Father for they know not what they do.” , and it’s like a reminder to keep that higher ground despite the challenges of the world. It feels like this man is like the Obi Wan of the story, the experienced Master and the enlightened Helper for our VM Hero.

Can you tell us more about the old man who gives the protagonist the VM card? What were your thoughts when creating his character?

Chris: The Helper! That’s him, ha! He’s basically the catalyst in a character, giving the hero the thing he needs to start on the journey he didn’t even know he was going on. But we do see Isaac wants to help, that he is ultimately good, which tells the old man that Isaac is a guy he can give whitelist to 😆.

But yeah, I think I needed a way for Isaac to get inside the metaverse in the first issue and I didn’t have much space to make that happen so I crammed a lot of setup into one scene and the old man was just perfect for making it seem natural. He is someone to be protected, which Isaac felt on a core level, so he leaped to protect him. He is also a great mystery character. Surrounded by so many questions, because he’s there, serves his purpose without giving any real information, and then he’s gone again and the adventure has begun.

AC: Who or what could we label as the antagonist in the VM Comic story?

Chris: We don’t actually see the main antagonist until the second issue and even then he isn’t in his “final form”, but it’ll be the Lizard King. Lots of mystery surrounding him but you’ll get some answers in the next installment coming up in a few days.

AC: What are your thoughts on the Metaverse?

Chris: The Metaverse is something a lot of projects are talking about working on and I think it’s obvious that projects with the best metaverse theories, game dynamics, and collaborations (inclusivity with other coins and projects in general) will dominate the ecosystem. Tbh, I just want a place to hang out and write.

AC: I feel that, it’s definitely a great place to be right now. The story of VM Comic is analogous to the development of the next evolutions of the Internet, specifically the ideas of a Web 3.0 and the metaverse. I think the Vending Machine as a concept plays a perfect role in this space. Both cryptocurrency and the vending machine are fundamentally transactional in nature and are symbolic of of economic systems. Do you have any thoughts on this?

Chris: Oh man, if you want analogs, we’ve got analogs. In the next issue there’s an Ethereum chevron/diamond that splinters and creates an avalanche that terraforms the entire blockchain, creating Avax net. It gets deep. 😅

AC: Thank you, Chrisceliumology! That’s all for now. I’m really looking forward to the second VM Comics issue. It was very nice to get to know you.

Chris: Thank you, AntCat! I appreciate you digging deeper into the stories and relaying my genius to anyone who’ll read about it!💛 🤣

Stay up to date with all Vending Machines Projects on the Twitter page.

--

--

AntCat
VMNFT
Editor for

Tempering the technological tenor with the harmonies of global enantiodromia and the fuzz pedals of art, music, cryptocurrency, and next level eudemonia