Learn German Prepositions 2

Milan Kriško
vobo.io
Published in
1 min readMay 11, 2021

In the previous article here the usage of the German prepositions in the accusative case was described. In this article, I will describe the usage of prepositions with dative.

aus (from)

Examples:

Sie kommt aus Deutschland.

She comes from Germany.

außer (except for)

Examples:

Ich arbeite den ganzen Tag, außer wenn ich schlafe.

I work all day, except when I sleep.

bei (at, near)

Examples:

Sie arbeitet bei einer kleiner Firma.

She works at a small company.

mit (by, with)

Examples:

Ich fahre jeden Tag mit dem Zug.

I travel by train every day.

Ich habe mit meinem Bruder gesprochen.

I have talked with my brother.

nach (after, to)

Examples:

Ich fahre nach Berlin.

I travel to Berlin.

Nach der Arbeit fahre ich nach hause.

After work I travel to home.

seit (since)

Examples:

Martin spielt seit einem Jahr Fußball.

Martin has been playing football for a year.

von (from)

Examples:

Ich habe von meiner Schwester eine E-Mail bekommen.

I got an email from my sister.

zu (at, to)

Examples:

Ich bin zu Hause geblieben.

I have stayed at home.

If you want to practice prepositions, you can find the online exercise here. Have fun with learning.

--

--