Alumni Spotlight: Summer Zhang (Canada 🇨🇦)

Foundations in Conversational Experience Design (FCxD) program graduate, Summer Zhang, shares how her passion for tech led her to Conversation Design (with a stop at McDonald’s along the way). Summer is currently Sr. Product Design Lead at Slalom Build.

Voice Tech Global
Voice Tech Global
3 min readSep 9, 2021

--

Q: How did you first decide to pursue a career in Conversation Design?

I have a background in human-centred design. I wanted to study something new related to design, and I initially thought about Game UX, AR design, or AI design. I tried to find something in tech that I was passionate about and that I could commit to studying. I attended a UX design workshop called “Design an Alexa Voice App for Airbnb Guests” one day. In the workshop, I learned how to design a voice-only experience without a screen. After that, I started to pay attention to Voice UX. I was very interested in Voice User Interface design. I believe Conversational AI is the future to improve people’s lives, make people’s lives easier and more accessible.

Q: Why did you decide to take the VTG course?

I bought books related to Conversation Design and joined some community channels to start. As I researched Voice UX, I found Voice Tech Global, a Toronto-based community, and I attended some events. When I saw the advanced course, I wanted to apply, but I realized I might first need to start with the foundation course — that’s why I took FCxD. While searching for available online classes and training camps worldwide, I decided to take the VTG course because it offers live sessions with office hours every week. It provides a type of “in-person” connection feeling.

Q: Tell us about your Capstone Project. What was your process and the results?

My Capstone Project is McDonald’s Drive-thru Assistant. I started with benchmarking research to understand what the current food industry can do and the current technology for food ordering. Then while learning the foundations of Conversation Design in class, I went to several McDonald’s locations to observe. I also interviewed some employees. Although I wouldn’t be able to get the insights data, I tried to collect information as much as possible to help me make the design decisions. Then the process was very similar to standard product design. I did a Conversation Design sketch, wireframes, prototyping, testing and hi-fi prototype, etc. The differences are the techniques and tools; the rest of design thinking methodology to me was very similar.

Based on the research, interviews and tests, I came up with some key features. The project is a good start, as a minimum viable product version to empower existing McDonald’s clients. I learned the prototyping tool under a short timeframe and wish I had more time to learn the tools so I could make a better final project prototype with visuals.

Q: What’s up next for you?

I am still learning about Conversation Design; increasing my knowledge in the AI area, and improving my voice design prototyping skills. Meanwhile, I have a long CxD reading list I haven’t finished, reading it slowly right now.

Q: What is your one piece of advice to anyone just starting on the journey of Conversation Design?

Always start with passion, find out why you want to start on the journey of Conversation Design first and then commit to the learning journey.

If you’re also interested in exploring a passion for Conversation Design, check out our CxD Certification Programs.

--

--